What is the opinion of Reddit about the
beyerdynamic Custom Studio 80 Ohm Closed Studio Headphone?

A total of 13 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2017

Beyerdynamic Custom Studio. Very similar to the DT770 Pro (80 ohm), except it has a removable cable. One downside for some is that the cable that comes with the Custom Studio is coiled. Bass response is adjustable.

If you need to use a mic with these, the V Moda Boompro is compatible with the Custom Studio.

1 point

·

16th Oct 2017

I’m pretty sure the Beyerdynamic Custom Studio can use the Boompro mic. It has a removable cable with a 3.5 mm port, but make sure of this beforehand.

Bright in headphone terms means that it has a bias towards the upper mids and treble, rather than being pure neutral or having more bass.

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2017
  • Budget– 200$
  • Source– Desktop, Xbox One, IPhone/Ipod
  • Isolation– Some or A lot
  • Will These Headphones be used in Public– Yes, Sometimes in quiet places like the library.
  • Preferred Type of Headphone– Over Ear
  • Preferred tonal balance– Overall balanced or more focused on bass
  • Past headphones– 3.5mm Headset – iKross In-Ear, Sades Sa901. They both has a good overall sound quality. I liked the bass. I didn’t like the cheapness.
  • Preferred Music– Rock: Foo Fighters, Classical, Punk Rock, Hard Rock, Rap.
  • What would you like to improve on from your set-up– I am looking for some great quality headphones that will be mainly used for gaming and music. It needs a decent soundstage but also has to be closed so not to much sound leaks. I am currently going with the Beyerdynamic Custom STUDIO.
1 point

·

9th Jun 2017

Very few closed back headphones come with velour pads. The DT770 (80 ohm) does, and has the sound you’re looking for, though they are more V shaped than the X2.

You might look at the Beyerdynamic Custom Studio. It has a replaceable cable (which you might want to change immediately since it is coiled), and it has velour pads. Not foldable.

1 point

·

26th Jun 2017

If you already have a 770, start soldering fam. Otherwise I’d look into the Custom Studios. They’re DT770 80 Ohm’s with a detachable cable and adjustable bass ports.

4 points

·

20th Jan 2018

I have the Beyerdynamic Custom Studio (DT770 but better because of removable cable and customizable bass) headphones paired with a Fiio Q1 DAC+AMP. Got myself a cheat cable for OTG-DAC support at Ebay. So I could use it with my phone and still listen to Spotify, etc.

Then i bought 3M Dual Lock to “velcro” both together when I need to, without losing the ability to take both appart for storage etc.

Basically I don’t need the Fiio Q1 when i’m gaming as the soundchip on motherboard is strong enough to power the headphones (compared to my phone Xperia XZ when im travelling).

The solution I found for the microphone is the Zalman ZM-MIC 1. A cheap 3$ mic that I “velcro’ed” with the 3M Dual Lock to my monitor and then I boosted up its sensitivity through the Windows options.

All together this cost me around €220 and I feel as if I have the most portable (for travelling) headset that is very well suited for gaming combo of headset/AMP/mic.

This was my first try at HiFi sound as well after my Steelseries Siberia V3 Prism gave up on me, and so far I would never ever go back.

Here are some links for you to look it all up on amazon:

Beyerdynamic Custom Studio

3M Dual Lock

FiiO Q1 DAC/AMP

Zalman ZM-mic1

OTG Right Angle Micro to USB-C (For DAC support)

Note: The prices I mentioned above were prices that I bought them for, they might have changed eversince, around 2 months ago.

1 point

·

18th Jan 2020

To follow up on a couple of your queries:

Here are the Custom Studio on Amazon U.S.

Here are the BLON B8 sold as the Sivga SV006.

If you think you’d like to try an open-back, two of my bargain picks due to recent price drops are the Fidelio L2 and the more commonly discussed X2HR.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2019

Get the Custom One Studio! I believe the stock cable is 3m long too but it’s detachable, so you can swap it out.

It has some neat features like ‘sliders’ on the bottom of the cups that change the base level (Closed back to semi open to open) and you can swap out the panels on the cups, if you’re into that.

I think it’s a worthy upgrade from the DT770. https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-Custom-Studio-Closed-Headphone/dp/B00OAR8VUA

Edit: Also, Custom Cans makes custom DT770s with a detachable cable mod for 135 euros. Furthermore, you can get a custom cable made by them with your choice of length and color for 60 euros, and they’ll include it with the headphones.

1 point

·

2nd Oct 2018

>COS

Just realized that we may be talking about different headphones, the one I am looking at is Custom Studio, not Custom One Studio: https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-Custom-Studio-Closed-Headphone/dp/B00OAR8VUA/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?ie=UTF8&qid=1538495563&sr=8-1-spons&keywords=custom+studio&psc=1

1 point

·

21st Jul 2017

For the Beyerdynamic Custom Studio im seeing them for $163 on Amazon with 80 Ohm Drivers and also found the ones you mentioned (Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO) for $173 with 250 Ohm drivers. Other than the drivers and the bass slider, theres not much difference between the two right? Does your DT 770 make your ears/head hot? Looking at the two im actually more interested in the DT 770 with an amp like FiiO E10K

1 point

·

9th Sep 2016

Budget – Max 250 USD / 220 euro

Source – They’ll be plugged into a desktop gaming PC

Requirements for Isolation – It needs at least some isolation. I’d be wearing them mainly at home

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? – No

Preferred Type of Headphone – Do you want IEMs, full-sized, or on-ear? – Full-sized

Preferred tonal balance – I’m not too sure about this. However I currently use ATH-m50 and im very pleased about the sound in them, so something similar would be nice.

Past headphones – ATH-m50, really loved the sound in these but the materials used for the headset was not good enough, the first layer of material on the headband started to crumble after a few years and the earpads too.

Preferred Music – Mostly House, EDM, chill trance – everything close to those genres. Heres a spotify playlist i listen to very often at the moment: https://play.spotify.com/user/cmsngky/playlist/457p81CdkeHtxsC6tZZidg

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – Somewhat similar balance as ATH-m50 has

Location – Denmark

What I’ve already been looking into – 1. Beyerdynamic Custom Studio 2. Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro Plus 3. Audio Technica ATH-M50X
The reason I prefer the Beyerdynamics over the ATH is because almost every single part can get replaced in case something happens to it, on top of that I heard that they have somewhat similar sound quality from youtube reviews – ATH being just slightly better.

I do not own an amp/dac for the Beyerdynamics Custom Studio (80 ohm) but im not sure its needed either but it will be hard to fit into my budget if its needed. However I have these speakers Logitech Z906 and was wondering if I could use that as amp/dac for it (im completely new to this so im not sure if thats possible)

0 points

·

26th Nov 2019

> I live in a room with my brother so i dont want to bother him

So you’re probably going to want a closed-back headphone.

You can look at something like the BD Custom Studio or AT MSR7 or B&O H6gen.2 or Sivga SV006 or AKG K553mkII. Or a semi-open like the AT WS1100is could work too.

Options kind of depend on what you want to do for a mic.

Whatever you choose, make sure it’s comfortable and has an easily replaceable cable and earpads.