What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Audio-Technica ATH-M30x Professional Studio Monitor Headphones, Black?

A total of 75 reviews of this product on Reddit.

4 points

·

29th Oct 2020

I use noise canceling in my SCIF w/o an issue but we don’t have inspections.

Don’t get Bose or a nice brand. They might walk off.

I like the big, bulky AF headphones. People know you’re not listening to them and/or busy. Some even keep on walking by (I hope).

I still use my ATH-M50s. Audio-technica produces good products.

There’s the 30 that’s still around: https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=Audio-Technica&qid=1603998260&s=electronics&sr=1-4

2 points

·

24th May 2021

I use the Audio technica ath-m30x they have an adapter included. It costs round about 60 euro and it is definitely worth the price. If you compare it to other headphones it’s pretty cheap for what you get

https://www.amazon.de/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30X-DJ-Kopfh%C3%B6rer-Studio/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?adgrpid=72481375138&dchild=1&gclid=Cj0KCQjwna2FBhDPARIsACAEc_XVLXhvLVdauMWz64O08p1QEroamRFm94oxm3cql6C_lwuezWCIDQoaArCsEALw_wcB&hvadid=…

This is the Amazon link but I think you can get them everywhere where you can buy headphones

1 point

·

15th Oct 2020

Alesis nitro mesh is pretty popular and can be had for 379 on amazon. I picked up an Alesis surge for 550 in May. Played daily and no problems so far. If you can stomach paying another 50 bucks over your budget, I think it’s well worth it. The extra money gets you a kick tower that can accommodate a double bass pedal should you want to use one, a bigger snare pad, and a much better looking chrome rack.

People shit on Alesis pretty hard on this subreddit, but if it gets you drumming, so be it.

https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_12?crid=M4XTPPURAAS5&dchild=1&keywords=studio+monitor+headphones&qid=1602721943&sprefix=studio+monitor%2Caps%2C234&sr=8-12

Buy those as well. The module sounds like trash through normal headphones.

1 point

·

16th Jul 2019

The M30X are $51, any experience with them?

1 point

·

10th Aug 2017

I have an older version of these. I used them for DJing and then they became my gaming headphones. They are comfortable and have awesome sound. Audio-Technica ATH-M30x Professional Monitor Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_VplJzbCGGBHF1

1 point

·

18th Jul 2017

fyi, was doing some more digging and saw that the 30x dropped from 69 to 51.75 on amazon, just a couple more bucks than the 20x. Think i’m going to jump on that. Thanks for the info!

https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_2?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1500342758&sr=1-2&keywords=ATH-M20x

1 point

·

29th Jun 2017

I don’t know anything about headphones, but just a heads up the M30x’s are only $69 brand new on amazon so you might have difficulty getting $60 for them used. I’d also be careful with trades like that, usually it’s better to get cash for what you have then use the cash to buy what you want. It lets you focus on one transaction at a time, you can negotiate each deal individually, and there’s more transparency about what’s going on. Generally you’re just less likely to get taken advantage of that way.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2017

Budget – £100

Source – Gaming PC (will buy amp in a few months)

Requirements for Isolation – Used for gaming and music at home so none really.

Will you be using these Headphones in Public – No

Preferred Type of Headphone – Over head.

Preferred tonal balance – Not really sure, something with nice bass but overall clear audio.

Past headphones – Crappy old apple headphones (ran out of money lmaoo)

Preferred Music – All genres – Normally Indie / Alternative.

Note – Looking at these, any good?

1 point

·

10th Jul 2016

This is an excellent headset that I use, but it doesn’t have a mic.

1 point

·

5th Mar 2016

Don’t get a headset they blow. Just get a good pair of headphones, I recommend these http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8, and then you have about $40 bucks to buy a mic. Yea the headset is more convenient but from using headsets but the quality is ballsack.

1 point

·

1st Jan 2016

$60, comparing the sound quality of the G930 gaming headset to a pair of normal headphones.

Wireless can degrade sound quality, because instead of a proper sound chip/card on your mobo/in your computer, it has to use a built in one in the headphones. High quality, wireless, and below $100. Pick one.

7.1 in headphones is basically a gimmick, because instead of having two high quality drivers, you have multiple not-so-great ones. It’s best to use a solid pair of stereo headphones (and if you’re willing to spend money, open back headphones like the AD700x) with a virtual surround program on your computer (such as razer surround or hajo headphone).

I don’t quite get why you’d want those music controls directly on your headphones when most every keyboard these days has those controls on it.

At ~$60, the ATH M30X is probably the best, and the sound quality will be better than most any gaming headset. If you’re willing to spend an extra $30 on wireless, somewhat worse sound quality, and audio controls on the headphones, then it’s not that bad of a deal, but you could do much better in the $100 range if you’re purely looking for sound quality.

1 point

·

9th Jan 2016

> ATH AD900X

found this subreddit because i may be in the market for some new ‘phones but my budget is a bit less. i have had a set in the past (like 8 years ago) and loved them so its cool to see them still being recommended. these suckers are on sale:

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_4?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1452299113&sr=1-4&keywords=audio+technica+headphones

how do they stack up against other headphones closer to the 100$ pricepoint?

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2015

> I’ve looked at the list of recommended headphones, but I’m not really sure what sounds I should be looking for.

You actually seem to have a pretty god idea. You’re right to be looking for closed-back, both for DJing and for listening in public spaces. The first two you listed would be fine choices. Right now on amazon (US) the ATH M30x (the bigger brother of the M20x) is on sale for just a few bucks over your budget. ($68) http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1449095248&sr=1-2&keywords=ath+m20x

1 point

·

6th Nov 2015

The M50x and M40x is mentioned here all the time, but the ATH-M30X is hardly mentioned, but it’s just within budget. Hopefully somebody can pipe in to say whether they’re worth $100 CAD.

1 point

·

20th Aug 2015

headsets are shit, get audio technica/sennheisers/sony and a mod mic(it’s ATTACHED) to the headphones
I’d recommend these for the price and then you just throw in a bit more for the mod mic, don’t buy a fucking headset for fucks sake. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30X-Professional-Headphones-Black/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=pd_sim_267_5?ie=UTF8&refRID=1PM85WE24WGHVT5XJDHM

1 point

·

18th Jul 2015

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1437249695&sr=8-1&keywords=ath+m30x

What about this

These are generally well liked by everyone, soundstage (no more than many others for this price though) is a little constricted but the overall quality is very good for the money.

1 point

·

20th Jul 2015
  1. You can hook him up to your account and disable games that are in your library even from view, so he would never know what they are, you can also disable the store and other parts of steam, its pretty good I think.

  2. I’m glad you can’t afford to get him beats because they are rubbish, I would recommend anything from Audio Technica they are a very reputable brand and give good sound and build quality. Here are some for $70 but i’m sure you can find them cheaper if you look around.

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1437419575&sr=8-4&keywords=ath

You may also want to get a PC compatible Xbox controller to play car games with.

  1. There are loads of kid friendly games out there but I don’t know his situation so you can assess them.

Cities Skylines, great city building game, rather complex though.

Grid Autosport, great driving game that I would highly recommend, very good for beginner and advanced gamers.

Terraria, a game like minecraft about building and gathering gear and defeating monsters

Rocket League, A brand new game about playing Football/Soccer with cars, I would highly recommend this its very simple to get into and I highly doubt you would ever run into someone being rude on this game. Check it out on steam I bet he would love it.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2015

ATH-M30x go on sale at 3:50 PM EST. Or I believe the time it tells me is my local time.

1 point

·

21st May 2015

ATH-M30X

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1432172066&sr=1-1&keywords=ath+m30x

Costs more on Amazon but you could get them for 60 elsewhere

they blow all these crappy “gaming” headsets by companies who are clueless about audio right back to where they belong

hell.

1 point

·

17th Apr 2015

As an owner of a few Audio Technicas, I don’t think the ATH-M30x would be too bad, I haven’t heard them myself, but the reviews are very positive!: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=psdc_172541_t2_B0001ARCFA (Maybe with the extra budget you could invest in some velour pads, as the default pads can be a little uncomfortable)

1 point

·

28th Mar 2015

I’m looking for some headphones for the daily commute for work and college.

Will be using with my phone (OnePlus One)

I’m looking for something less than £50

Not looking for In Ear.

The two headphones I’ve seen is ATH-M30’s and [Sony’s MDR-V55]( www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007I1QY1I/ref=ox_sc_act_title_4?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE)
but I am open to other ideas.

1 point

·

18th Nov 2014

Personally I never get tired of using them and I usually use them for about 1-2 hours on end 🙂

The MDR7506 aren’t too tight on my head which is often the case with most other headphones leaving me with a headache!

So just from my personal experience, these headphones are light-weight, well fit, and great sound!

As for other headphone recommendations, Audio Technica MTH-M30x are nice!

$69.00 at amazon

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HVLUQW8/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00HVLUQW8&linkCode=as2&tag=digitren08-20&linkId=25IRNRD5RNW7TYNU

3 points

·

27th Jun 2016

Audio Technica ATH-M30x is a great option. My friend has it and I have used it a few times. Great headphones with amazing build quality at that price. If you find it hot with the earpads that come with, get some foam earpads as replacement.

There is also the Sennheiser HD449 which is the same in sound quality. Altough I felt this had a little more bass than the ATH-M30x. This one comes with foam earpads and has more comfortable clamping than the ATH-M30x personally. This too belongs to another friend but I had limited use with this one.

I use the Sennheiser HD439 which I couldn’t find in the Canadian Amazon. It’s cheaper than the above two but provides almost similar sound quality, but has the added benefit of having detachable cables and comes with 2 cables. If you prefer that, then go ahead and look into it.
P.S Bought mine at a discounted USD 46.99 about a year ago.

Good Luck.

2 points

·

25th Feb 2021

Can go wrong with M30Xs

2 points

·

30th Mar 2017

I always recommend Audio-Technica for good value / quality. You can pick up a pair of M30X for $70 US, less on sale at amazon. For a mic, even something like a Blue Snowball isn’t a bad choice.

If you’re just not into standalone mics, Logitech G430 with 7.1 Surround sound is a good option.

EDIT: links

2 points

·

6th Oct 2020

For $70 you can get some decent Audio Technica cans here. But, I recommend you spend an extra $30 and get the M50x.. I have both and the 50x is stellar. The 30x isn’t bad either.

1 point

·

28th Dec 2021
1 point

·

3rd Dec 2021

Gaming headsets are optimized for game sounds and voice chat, they don’t have a flat frequency response like a good pair of monitoring headphones. If he mixes on the gaming headsets, he’s gonna get frustrated with how his mixes sound anywhere else.

I do most of my mixing with VSX and my monitors now, so I don’t use my old pair of reference headphones as often, but I recommend these: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HVLUQW8/

They’re surprisingly good for the price!

1 point

·

21st Jul 2021

I have these Audio Technica and I like them a lot. I know it’s the big bad, but they can be delivered tomorrow.

1 point

·

13th Jun 2021

I’d go for cloud stinger since i hear that hyperx cloud series are really durable

Other recommendations:

ATH M30X – what im currently using for 3 years now, (long cable but no mic)

HyperX Cloud II – based on most of my friends recommendations

i wont recommend razer these days even if the sound is good since my electra, adaro and kraken all didnt last me even 2 years each, cables get brittle, earcups flake off or 1 side stops working

i would avoid brands like beats by dre or skullcandy since the sounds isnt as great as the ones above

1 point

·

30th Dec 2020
  1. Audio Technica ATH-M30x for $69 ^^^nice (or the M20x for $49 if you don’t care about folding headphones)
  2. AKG Pro Audio K72 – $49
  3. Monoprice retro headphones for $26.99 (basically the closed back version of the popular Samson SR850).

None of these have removable audio cables, something to be mindful of.

1 point

·

25th Aug 2020
1 point

·

18th Aug 2020

Consider Audio Technias too. Very good sound for the cost. Ath-m50 are excellent and well regarded

Edit:Sorry might be a bit over 100

For the record though, i have the m30s and love them

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HVLUQW8/

1 point

·

8th Aug 2020

Sorry I am not from the US, I thought this was about 100 USD. You can try look for the 559 model, it is open back though.

Can also look at the Audio Technica models, I have used the 50 before and it was amazing. Basically my advice would be to get studio headphones over a gaming headset as the quality is generally always better.

https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Aud%C3%ADfonos-profesionales-estudio/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=audio+technica+ath+40&qid=1596869434&sr=8-3

​

https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M20x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUR18/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=audio+technica+ath+40&qid=1596869434&sr=8-4

1 point

·

21st May 2020

Some cheap amazon head set I got way back. And these are the headphones.

Audio-Technica ATH-M30x… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HVLUQW8?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2017

I have the upgraded versions of this, but these will do you good!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_5FQ-zb6KGABMH

1 point

·

4th Jul 2017

I think they maybe these.
Audio-Technica ATH-M30x Professional Studio Monitor Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_R99wzb1K0NK9M

1 point

·

8th Feb 2017

Has anyone found large replacement ear cups for the ATH-M30x? The stock cups are too small to fit over my ears!

1 point

·

5th Jan 2017

Thanks! That’s great to hear. Now I’m even happier with my purchase. Been googling for a while and there are so many options! What do you think of these ?

1 point

·

7th Dec 2016

Me and a friend are trying to find some really good headphones for music and gaming, but we’re aware of “gaming” headsets, so we’re trying to stay away from them. We both like the Audio-Technica ATH-M30Xs and the LyxPro HAS-30s. I’m wondering, are these headphones good for gaming and surround sound?! Thank you!

EDIT:This is all probably a stupid question, but that’s anyway 😛

1 point

·

24th Nov 2016

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HVLUQW8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I’m happy with this purchase. Sounds great and the cord is around 10 ft.

1 point

·

8th Oct 2016

ATH-M30x: https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8

Koss PortaPro: https://www.amazon.com/Koss-PortaPro-Headphones-with-Case/dp/B00001P4ZH/ref=sr_1_1?s=aht&ie=UTF8&qid=1475925261&sr=1-1&keywords=koss+portapro

I used both these headphones when I was listening to post-hardcore music and on a budget. You’ll want to try them out first as they both sound quite different. Still use the Portapros these days when I need something fun and enjoyable

1 point

·

20th Aug 2016

I’ve used them for years, though I’ve recently started using sound-isolating ones instead combined with a (white-)noise generator, which I much prefer. I use these Audio Technicas and this general noise generator.

I used to work in an office that I shared with about six people at any given time and it was impossible to get anything done when people started talking. Cranking up the noise (usually not really white noise, but rather pleasant storm sounds or whatever) with that combination does the trick…

1 point

·

27th Jun 2016

You could give those headphones a try: Audio Technica ATH-M30x

Review from HiFi Heaven

Edit: virtual surround sound is done in software, don’t buy into that 5.1 headset scam, get a descend pair of good headphones and if you want surround sound, get something like Razer Surround (7.1 virtualization software). I wouldn’t recomend it for Music, I play cs:go(stereo) with my Beyerdynamic DT-880 and it’s like having a wallhack, because of the awesome soundstage good headphones produce.

1 point

·

21st Jun 2016

Just buy good quality stereo headphones.

Audio technica AD500x would be a great buy, although it will leak sound in and out. Or the M30x, a mic can be used with both of those.

Failing that the HyperX Cloud I/II.

1 point

·

21st May 2016

Lumia 640 for $30. Pop out the SIM before turning it on. Go to AT&T’s unlock page, wait two days, bam. Unlocked cell phone.

Alternatively: http://shityoucanafford.com/

OR, get a pair of Audio-Technica headphones.

It’s $5 higher than $50. I got the previous model (The M30s), and they’re the best damn headphones for the buck. I got mine for $30 like two years ago, but the new model should be better.

1 point

·

11th Apr 2016

In your price range, I’m partial to over-ear monitors like Audio-Technica M30X ($49) or Monoprice MHP-839 ($39).

1 point

·

8th Feb 2016

these headphones and maybe this mic

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2016

soft Budget: £60 ($85.60) << location: UK

Source: Phone and PC -aux port ,(will need splitter if it’s w/mic)

don’t need Isolation.

will be used in public

Preferred Type of Headphone: Full-sized ,Over-ear

Preferred tonal balance: Bass or Neutral

Past headphones:

  • (using)[Sennheiser – CX175 In-Ear Headphones]

  • [JVC – HAFX1X – Xtreme Xplosives In Ear Canal Headphones]

  • (over-ear)[No Fear – DJ Headphones]

Currently looking at:

would be nice: Inline Mic/volume control ,wireless ,known brand ,travel Case (so they don’t break easy).

Use: music and gaming.

1 point

·

29th Nov 2015

I have a pair of Audio-Technica ATH-M30xs link. I love them, they are comfortable and they sound great.

1 point

·

29th Oct 2015

Not even anything fancy! Klipsch S4 earbuds and Audio Technica M30x headphones. The Audio Technica ones are the best-sounding ones I’ve ever owned – a good bit better than the Bose over-ear ones for everything except pure bass.

I should probably just find some better earbuds for work. :[

1 point

·

15th Aug 2015

Well, you can always put the mic on the side of it with velcro or whatever.

You can also just get a desktop mic so nice that you won’t want to re-combine them.

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8

http://www.amazon.com/CAD-U1-Dynamic-Recording-Microphone/dp/B000ULQTE0

1 point

·

9th Jul 2015

Ok then:

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1436465840&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=m30x&amp;pebp=1436465841227&amp;perid=1VF2WKDD28GACSJE3GHP

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M20x-Professional-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUR18/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1436465906&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=m20x&amp;pebp=1436465907985&amp;perid=0KB5ZGY58RK5KC72MQYZ

It’s not about them being “super professional film maker”

buying gaming headsets is like buying a mac for it’s specs and then having shoddy build quality

performance, features, price, piss poor.

At no price level are gaming headsets better value, buying a £40 gaming headset is like buying £20 normal headphones and they won’t have stupid overdone fake bass or anything stupid like that

1 point

·

24th Jul 2015
1 point

·

20th Jul 2015

Hey, so my old Plantronics broke and I’m looking for the best possible replacement.

I mostly listen to bass heavy electronic songs and metal/rock music. I also play lots of video games, but a microphone is not a must and music is a higher priority here then video games. Portability isn’t needed since I would be using these on my desktop PC and I would really like them to be over ear headphones.

My budget would be no higher then 100 eur.

I’ve been looking at these

So are these good options?

Thank you!

EDIT: I added the SteelSeries headphones.

1 point

·

4th Jun 2015

The bot has to poll reddit for changes. If there is a mass influx of content, it might miss a post. Lets try again.

It could also be backlogged. Lets see.

edit: Amazon last sold it May 26th:

https://www.pricezombie.com/viewproduct/pF/2Ux6A/Audio-Technica-ATH-M30x-Professional-Studio-Monitor-Headphones

1 point

·

21st Apr 2015

The Audio-Technica ATH-M30x is a great pair of closed back over ear headphones: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HVLUQW8/ref=psdc_172541_t1_B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

15th Apr 2015

Are you plugging them straight into your laptop/computer?

If you really want on-ear, the Noontec Zoro HD II’s are pretty great, especially if you get it for the amazon-warehouse one in the link above. It’s a little beat up, but amazon has a great return policy if you dont like it. Tyll at inner fidelity just did a review on them and he really liked them: Here. They’re balanced, so the bass might not be as overpowering as the bassy headphones you’ve tried but I was in the same boat (used a pair of V-Moda Crossfade LPs before switching to a pair of Fidelio X1s/HD650s), and I can’t stand using bassy things anymore.

If you don’t want to buy used, the original Zoro’s are still great (Just search Noontec). If you don’t mind over-ear (cover your entire ear), the Audio Technica M30X’s are great. They’re just a little over your budget, but they produce some really quality sound.

Hope this helps.

1 point

·

24th Mar 2015

If you want a good mic, do NOT buy a headset. You end up paying well over what the product is worth for a headset. If you want the best bang for your buck product, while at the same time retaining an excellent standard of quality (and far far FAR better sound quality), get a nice pair of headphones and a separate mic. Watch this video and this video for a good amount of information.

Because you’re specifically asking for headsets that go for the $100 range, I would recommend the Audio Technica ATH-M30X combined with the ModMic. I can personally attest, after owning a bunch of different headsets, that the voice quality on the ModMic is going to far and away blow everything out of the water that you can get on a headset in the price range you mention.

1 point

·

3rd Feb 2015

Gaming headsets are known for not having the best audio.. I would never pay that much for a “gaming headset”. For that amount of money you could have gotten amazing sounding (I own these) headphones and a very good mic

1 point

·

10th Feb 2015

As an ex-headset owner, this is so much better:

Headphones

Microphone

The subreddits I linked on the original comment might have other ideas to get it under $100

1 point

·

31st Jan 2015

So I’m about to make my first serious headphone purchase (only previously used <$20 earbuds) and I am deciding between Audio-Technica ATH-M30x and Creative Aurvana Live! Headphones. At this point, I could go either way. My main question is about the comfort level of the headphones on your ears. So I was wondering if anyone had previous experiences with either of these sets of headphones which was positive or negative. I would appreciate the input!

0 points

·

12th Dec 2016

I’ve got a pair of these that get the job done quite nicely, and are well within your budget. There’s better stuff out there, sure, but for Youtube these are more than enough. They use a standard 3.5mm headphone jack.