What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Audio-Technica ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint Active Noise-Cancelling Headphones?

A total of 16 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

21st Sep 2018

I had an older-generation pair of these audio-technica headphones and I really liked them.

1 point

·

16th May 2018

I can’t claim to have used every headphone on the market, but I previously used the Audio-Technica QuietPoint and was quite pleased with the sound quality and noise cancelling ability. They are wired though (don’t need to wire them just to cancel noise obviously) so no bluetooth if that is important to you.

Audio-Technica makes good mid-range products and these are a great value at 100 dollars in my opinion. I used them for several years until I upgraded to the Sennheiser HD-1, but those are above your budget:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007KWLF5K/ref=emc_b_5_t

EDIT: I had the ANC9 version, slightly more expensive but still well within your budget, changed link.

1 point

·

24th Apr 2017

If I were to buy a pair of noise-cancelling headphones today, it would be the Audio Technica ATH-ANC9. The noise cancelling is good (not quite as good as the Bose, I concede, but still well within the realm of ‘good’ and should be more than enough for most people), and the sound is far better than any of Bose’s offerings.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2017

I picked up these on amazon a couple months back to help with the noisy open office I work in. They’re noise cancelling, and fit really well over the ps vr headset. Sound quality is very good too.

https://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-ANC9-QuietPoint-Noise-Cancelling-Headphones/dp/B007KWLF5K

They were $150 when I bought them, seems like they’re more expensive now.

1 point

·

17th Nov 2016

I’m in a pickle.

I live in an urban area, and the noise from the cars on the street gives me migraines. I bought The Audio Technica ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint and they worked great! The active noise cancelling did the trick. Such a relief…

…Until a week later when something must have come loose inside, and every step I took was punctuated with a low rattling sound. Far from ideal. I returned them.

I need active noise-cancelling headphones that can tolerate me taking them outside. They also need to be amazingly comfortable, because I intend to wear them most of my waking hours.

Help! My poor pounding skull needs your expertise.

1 point

·

5th Jul 2016

Used these on several flights. They have three different modes of noise cancellation. Not sure how they compare to the standard Bose offerings, but I was able to get them for far cheaper than the Bose alternatives and they worked wonders on my 16 hr flights.

https://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-ANC9-QuietPoint-Noise-Cancelling-Headphones/dp/B007KWLF5K/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1467689131&sr=1-3&keywords=audio-technica+noise

1 point

·

20th Jun 2016

I have the Audio Technica ATH-NC9 noise canceling headphones (https://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-ANC9-QuietPoint-Noise-Cancelling-Headphones/dp/B007KWLF5K)

They have great sound, come with a nice case and are really comfortable. I got them for $135 on buydig.com, full retail is $199

2 points

·

16th Feb 2015

When I did Uberman for three weeks, I had an adaptation buddy. That schedule is so extreme that it’s pretty much impossible to do it without someone to help you wake up from naps.

But in college my roommate decided to try polysleep as well, and we stuck the schedule extremely well since we woke up and went to sleep at the same times. We did DC1, which at the time was 3.5hr + 1.5hr + 20min.

Since I’ve been poly for so long, I don’t have anyone help me get up. I just have a really good alarm, an app called “I Can’t Wake Up” that forces me to get up and go scan something’s barcode to turn off the alarm, plus I need to do a couple of equations and memory games. My backup alarm is called the Sonic Bomb, which is SUPER LOUD, so it’s hard to sleep through both of those. Anyway, I’ll almost always get up with the first alarm with ease.

And yes, I believe that University students have the best opportunity to try polysleep because they have such flexible schedules, and universities have so many napping areas everywhere. You’ll likely benefit greatly from the time you gain not sleeping.

It took me a while to feel totally at ease with it. It’s hard to tell you how long in a way that you can relate to, since I started off straight with Uberman, and because of its extremity I don’t usually recommend people start off like that. But, my roommate in college went straight from monophasic to Dual Core 1 and the adaptation took only a couple of days. It depends on how healthy your sleep is already, how accustomed you are to napping, and what your target schedule is.

Finally, I use a lot of sleep products, having been doing this for so long. I use custom made earplugs from theearplugsuperstore.com, which I’m sure you can get in many places. My noise cancelling headphones are these: http://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-ANC9-QuietPoint-Noise-Cancelling-Headphones/dp/B007KWLF5K/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1424093723&sr=1-2&keywords=audio+technica+noise+cancelling+headphones
which are awesome! I also just use a regular sleeping mask.

I also bought an Ostrich Pillow, from a kickstarter campaign, and they look cool, but they actually really suck for napping. Do not buy one of those.

Finally, I use orange blue-blocking glasses that I got from theeyeglasssuperstore.com (I think that was the site). They’re nice because they go over my glasses and allow my melatonin levels to be indisturbed at night. I also bought some red LED light strips on Amazon and have them perimetering my room, and they work very well for good night lighting.

I also use melatonin if I’m trying to shift my schedule from one day to the next, and I use caffeine if absolutely necessary.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2018

Audio Technica ATH-ANC9
old one. the value is high because of sale on amazon , from 199 to 119

Sennheiser HD 4.50 SE
wireless , 199 dollar

Bose QC 25 wired headphone, 199 dollar

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2018

Audio-Technica makes several good noise cancelling headphones that don’t take up much space.

I use these at work: https://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-ANC9-QuietPoint-Noise-Cancelling-Headphones/dp/B007KWLF5K

1 point

·

28th Jul 2017

TL;DR: I like my noise-cancelling headphones, but I want something passive for my record player and home use. Something with decent bass and crisp highs in the ~$50-150 range, but noise isolation isn’t really necessary.

  • Budget – I’d like to stay in the ~$100 area, but I can go up to around $150.
  • Source – My laptop on occasion, but probably my old-ish Onkyo receiver for my old Sony turntable (seen here) for the most part.
  • Requirements for Isolation – None, really. This is mainly for listening to stuff at home, mostly on my turntable. I have another set of cans for public use.
  • Will you be using these Headphones in Public? – Probably not.
  • Preferred Type of Headphone – Full-sized. Open-back or closed-back doesn’t really matter.
  • Preferred tonal balance – I’d prefer something with more bass, honestly. “Warm” would be a good way to describe it. I thought, as a musician and music lover, I’d like a more “natural” or “professional” sound signature, but when I tried the AKG K240’s and Sony MDR-7506’s, I felt like a lot of bass was missing. They’d sound ok with the strings, acoustic guitars, and vocals on Beck’s Sea Change, but the bass on Yeezus and Run the Jewels 3 just came out as an annoying buzz.
  • Past headphones – Uh, see above. I currently own and will continue to use my Audio-Technica ATH-ANC9’s because I’m a college student and the noise cancelling is a lifesaver when I need to study in public.
  • Preferred Music – Since I’ll mostly be using this for my turntable, most of the vinyl I collect (or, at least, that I listen to) is mellow, organic stuff: bossa nova, folk, jazz, etc. However, I also have some more energizing and digital-sounding records, like David Bowie’s Blackstar and Frank Ocean’s Blonde, that I listen to frequently, and I also love Carly Rae Jepsen’s Emotion and Run the Jewels’ whole discography (which I don’t yet have on vinyl). Besides my record player, I usually listen to this Spotify playlist when I study. And here’s a 5×5 of my top Last.fm scrobbles from the past month.
  • What would you like to improve on from your set-up – Less noise cancelling, and a more open sound but with some good bass as well. The noise cancelling on my ANC9’s is great, but sometimes the hiss gets a little annoying and they get a little claustrophobic. Also, going through battery after battery to power them gets annoying.

Thanks for being such a great resource thus far in my headphone journey!

1 point

·

5th Feb 2016

The M50x will do a decent job blocking out noise especially if you’re listening to music or something at the time. If your main intention is to remove noise completely though then noise canceling headphones or even industrial ear muffs. If you’re interested in noise cancelling headphones these would be my suggestion. My father has these and they do a good job of removing noise but despite sounding pretty good the ATH-M50x are far superior in terms of audio quality.

If you do choose to the the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x headphones then it wouldn’t be a bad idea to get an amp as well. As far as studio headphones go they have a pretty low impedance but I would suspect it to sound better with an amp regardless.

1 point

·

20th Jun 2015