What is the opinion of Reddit about the
audio-technica ATH-AD900X Open-Back Audiophile Headphones,Black?

A total of 57 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

5th Oct 2017

Beyerdynamic headphones seem to have increased in price recently, so this is a nice find! I bought a pair of DT990 Pros a couple years ago for $130 on Amazon, and now I can’t find them for under $170.

The highlights of these headphones are comfort and build quality. German made and they feel like it. The sound is far closer to neutral (equal amount of bass, mids, and treble) than the DT990 or DT770, but the highs can still be harsh at times (typical Beyerdynamic). These are pretty much the best you can get for music listening at $130 (great price). For gaming I would recommend the AD900x instead, it has a much larger soundstage that makes it easier to utilize positional audio.

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2016

Based on that, my recommendation would be an AD900X – there are a few other options (quite a few, really) in that range, but if you’re not picky, it’s an easy pick. You can snag one new for around $140 on Amazon, or around $110 used. On the more audio-centric used market (Head-Fi, /r/AVexchange), you might be able to knock off a few dollars from that used price, though AD900Xs have held their value oddly well, probably because the price abruptly fell fairly recently and the used market hasn’t really adapted yet.

The AD900X is a very open headphone, light and comfortable for most (though AT’s 3D wings don’t work perfectly for everybody – if you have issues with it sliding down, try a rubber band between the two “wings” to increase tension), with very good positional audio. They’re quite easily driven as well, meaning that you should have no issues running them off integrated.

1 point

·

10th Mar 2019

Get the ATH AD900X off amazon and if you don’t like them just return it. They have okay base and a great soundstage and good imaging. They’re also lower than your minimum budget. They’re usually around $200 but for some reason they’re $115 on Amazon right now. I think someone messed up the price and put 115 instead of 215?

You could also go straight for top of the line if you wanted with the AD2000X. I haven’t personally tried them but really good reviews and again, Amazon has a pretty insane return policy.

1 point

·

31st Dec 2018

ad900x or if you have the budget I’ve read great things about the HD800 for gaming.

If your serious about gaming then you need to consider the audio technica AD900X. I have gamed in my zmf classics, he400i, DT990, Tecsun Caogen, AD700X and AD900X. I’ve just been switching back and forth tonight actually between my AD700X and AD900X, which out of all my headphones are the best for positional audio. The AD900X have more of everything to put it plainly over the AD700X. The bass is more present but doesn’t get in the way of footsteps nearby. When bullets are flying and you land that head shot, those sounds have a sizzle and snap that is so satisfying every single time. They are easy to drive. I’ll need to test with music but in game it seemed the AD900X was actually easier to drive too. Which I thought would be the opposite.

You don’t need to spend a lot to get a great setup for gaming. I would not bank on having one headset to do both competitive gaming and musical enjoyment. The AD900X sound great with music also don’t get me wrong but if a darker headphone for music is what your used to you may not like these for music. It’s my recommendation with a budget like you have to buy one headphone for gaming and the other for music.

As for a dac and amp. There are so many choices. You won’t notice a very big difference with dacs and amps for gaming. $100 options will do. But when it comes to music you can most certainly reap the rewards. My current and best setup I own for a dac and amp is the Geshelli Labs Enog2 pro dac and Archel pro amp. They get my recommendation as i’ve heard them with all the aforementioned headphones.

​

1 point

·

29th Apr 2018

If you are interested in Audio Technica check out the ATH AD900X, much better pick for gaming.

Leaking sound from open back headphones is not an issue if you don’t blast audio at insane levels and now how to setup a noise gate for your mic / use push to talk.

1 point

·

26th Sep 2017

I’ve been moved from my own office into what has to be the loudest cube farm in the world. Please, for the love of god, help me find some noise canceling over-ear cans before I give up and quit…

I’ll be wearing these ~7 hours a day 5 days a week, so, please make them comfortable..

Budget – 250USD and under

Source – Macbook pro, won’t be bringing an amp into the office every day, and I sure as hell won’t be leaving one unattended…

Requirements for Isolation – Did you read the first part of this post? Literally all of it. I don’t even want to be able to hear myself think.

Public use? – Again, did you read the beginning? I’ll be wearing them in a cube farm. Couldn’t care less about looking like a dork though.

Preferred Type – Over ear, closed cans.

Preferred tonal balance – All about that base, and those sweet high pitched vocals.

Past cans – A set of AITH-AD900X that I loved. They were a little big for my head though so I had to do the rubber band mod thing.

Preferred Music – EDM (mainly chillstep and trance), punk, alt rock.

Improvements – Noise canceling!

Local – U.S. of freaking A.

Anything else – Uhh, I’d like a removable cable so I don’t have to mess with cable management every day, but that’s really not that big of an issue for me. I can mod it if there’s a guide on head-fi or somewhere.

1 point

·

17th Jun 2017

Guess you dont know that the ad series have a pretty wide soundtsage. You got razer idk why you acting like audio technica have the reputation that razer does their products lol. Audio Technica ATH-AD900X Open-Back Audiophile Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009S331VU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_X6hrzbG572R4S

1 point

·

24th Mar 2017

AKG makes some quality cans, I’ve only used the K701 personally so not sure about the 612. If you want some more insight on any particular headphone, /r/headphones would be a better place to post.

You’ll probably want headphones with a wide soundstage, basically the width the headphones can create. Audio Technica’s AD series is pretty well known for having a wide soundstage, though you may find them a bit bright.

1 point

·

28th Feb 2017

https://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-AD900X-Open-Back-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S331VU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1488247604&sr=8-1&keywords=ath-ad900x

Audio Technicas ATH-AD900x’s

I’ve been using these for over a year now (i’m 6’5″ with a head to match and glasses) and they’re supremely comfortable. Really good soundstage. They do need a little bit of power to sound their best, but they definitely sound great still coming from mobo output.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2016

how important are the headphones you’re using, it seems like you need a really high end set to take advantage of the amp capabilities… this is what i’m using now.https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009S331VU/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

13th May 2016

That is…a surprising amount of neutrality. Well, one compelling option would be an Audio-Technica AD900X. The AD900X is a very spacious-sounding open-back which a lot of folks like for gaming, it’s very easily driven, and I personally consider it exceptionally comfortable owing to its very light construction and “3D wing” headband system. However, the AD900X – like most open Audio-Technicas – really falls down on the lower bass response, so if you want more kick on the bottom end, another option might be preferable.

To some degree, I’m struggling here because I don’t have any solid indicators of preference to fetter options. The AD900X is probably among the highest fidelity options you can get for the money, but I’m having trouble reading whether you’d like it or not.

1 point

·

22nd Sep 2015

Headphones are a better option as you have a mic already, and open headphones are better for sound positions. I recommend Audio-Technica ad900x, http://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-AD900X-Open-Back-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S331VU i have a pair and they are amazing. If you want closed headphones there are lots of other options.

1 point

·

26th Sep 2015

I’m going to get an Audio Technica ATH-AD900X, they any good for CS:GO? Since they’re open headphones, I’m assuming they should be really great for pinpointing certain sounds and certain positions. Going to get a modmic for this as well.

1 point

·

10th Aug 2015

Might not be what you’re looking for but I have these: ATH AD900X. Open-back, and the cans are gigantic, which I like since I have pretty big ears. They are pretty heavy though, and if I wear them for a long time it starts to hurt my neck but they’re great. Fantastic sound quality.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2015

This is also true. I use a pair of Audio-Technica ATH-AD900X from my mobo and it sounds just as good as from my Schiit Magni. Not that they needed it being fairly low impedance.

BTW, I would highly recommend these cans to anyone that doesn’t need or want a ton of low end. They sound fairly natural and wide open. The low end is there it just doesn’t have a lot of punch. If that sounds good to you $150 is a great price.

1 point

·

6th Apr 2015
  • Budget – <$200
  • Source – Realtek ALC892 with 7.1+2 Channel HD Audio Codec
  • Requirements for isolation – None
  • Preferred type of headphone – Over ear, open
  • Preferred tonal balance – Not too sure, using these mainly for Counter Strike so positional sound is imperative. I’m assuming I should be looking for something with a pretty neutral sound and a large sound stage.
  • Preferred Music – Listening to music through these is an afterthought, if it would work well with some genres that would be a plus. Mainly listen to rap and jazz.

Been thinking about these, but am slightly turned off by the non-removable cable, is there a better option?

1 point

·

4th Apr 2015

http://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-AD900X-Open-Back-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S331VU/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1428167078&amp;sr=8-4&amp;keywords=ATH-AD700x

I owned a pair of these at a point and I was amazed by how wide and far the soundstage extends. They’re a little weak on bass, but the bass that’s there is quality and not boomy. The mids and highs are probably some of the best in the price range.

1 point

·

22nd Apr 2015

I prefer Wired headphones. I always run into problems with charging ports on everything. Wireless headphones also tend to have interference with other wireless devices so you’ll sometimes get odd popping/crackling noises.

As for the sound quality and type of sounds, it really depends on what you’ll be using them for and what sounds/tones you like best. I personally like a good open back pair of headphones. They tend to have a much broader soundstage. Both the HD 558 and 598 are open back. Keep in mind that open back bleed sound, so people around you will some of your audio, as well as you hearing them. Open back are best if you are in a quiet environment. If you’re considering the HD 598’s, I’d also take a look at the Audio Technica ATH-AD900X. They are super open. I’d buy these if I had the money.

3 points

·

30th Dec 2018

If your serious about gaming then you need to consider the audio technica AD900X. I have gamed in my zmf classics, he400i, DT990, Tecsun Caogen, AD700X and AD900X. I’ve just been switching back and forth tonight actually between my AD700X and AD900X, which out of all my headphones are the best for positional audio and comfort. The AD900X have more of everything to put it plainly over the AD700X. The bass is more present but doesn’t get in the way of footsteps nearby. When bullets are flying and you land that head shot, those sounds have a sizzle and snap that is so satisfying every single time. Oh and what do ya know I’m using mine with a modmic 4.0. Works great together. They are easy to drive. I’ll need to test with music but in game it seemed the AD900X was actually easier to drive too. Which I thought would be the opposite.

Now if your looking for just a fun gaming headphone then look no further than the Tecsun Caogen wood headphones with brainwavz hybrid pads. The bass will make you jump and everything you hear will grab your attention and keep you fully focused on whats happening in the game. It is a very involving sound!

Oh and FYI this is the first time in about a week and a half that the Tecsuns are back in stock on amazon. Buy them while you can!!!

2 points

·

30th Dec 2018

If your serious about gaming then you need to consider the audio technica AD900X. I have gamed in my zmf classics, he400i, DT990, Tecsun Caogen, AD700X and AD900X. I’ve just been switching back and forth tonight actually between my AD700X and AD900X, which out of all my headphones are the best for positional audio and comfort. The AD900X have more of everything to put it plainly over the AD700X. The bass is more present but doesn’t get in the way of footsteps nearby. When bullets are flying and you land that head shot, those sounds have a sizzle and snap that is so satisfying every single time. Oh and what do ya know I’m using mine with a modmic 4.0. Works great together. They are easy to drive. I’ll need to test with music but in game it seemed the AD900X was actually easier to drive too. Which I thought would be the opposite.

Now if your looking for just a fun gaming headphone then look no further than the Tecsun Caogen wood headphones with brainwavz hybrid pads. The bass will make you jump and everything you hear will grab your attention and keep you fully focused on whats happening in the game. It is a very involving sound!

Oh and FYI this is the first time in about a week and a half that the Tecsuns are back in stock on amazon. Buy them while you can!!!

1 point

·

9th Jan 2021

The ath-ad900x are going for $135 right now from $300

Audio Technica ATH-AD900X Open-Back Audiophile Headphones,Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009S331VU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_dqq-FbTNV90H6

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2021

Audio Technica ATH-AD900X Open-Back Audiophile Headphones,Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009S331VU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_d3x8FbFPAT4Q2

1 point

·

4th Mar 2019

I got the AD900Xs on Amazon for $130

Audio Technica ATH-AD900X Open-Back Audiophile Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009S331VU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_ClhFCbSC56SP8

1 point

·

14th Jun 2018
1 point

·

21st Jan 2018

I accidentally removed the left ear pad of my ATH-AD900X, how would I put it back on?

1 point

·

14th Nov 2017

ATH AD900X 🙂 I have the 500x and they are insanely comfortable, and work great while talking to friends in discord because I can completely hear myself. A lot of people recommend the AD700x but since you have the budget I’d take the step up

1 point

·

17th Nov 2017

Look this over.

Rather than go with an all-in-one headset with a crappy mic and crappy speakers, I researched for a couple years then pulled the trigger and haven’t been happier. It was 2015 and I spent $245 on my headphone/mic setup. It still feels brand new. Here’s what I am using:

To hold the mic cable to the headphone cable I got this AntLion Audio ModMic Accessory Cable Clips $1

I got this hanger so I don’t have to have my headphones laying on my desk when not in use: Brainwavz Hengja – The Headphone Desk Hanger $14

prices may have changed

Read the first link to learn about headphones and soundstage vs. “3-D” and “multi-speaker” headsets. Everyone has their biases, but I’ve been convinced. (source: pc gamer and builder for 27 years)

1 point

·

6th Jul 2017

Weird the link worked for me. I just copy and pasted the post below, hope it’s useful!

This is a guide that recommends headphones with an added mic and does not recommend gaming headsets (I’ll explain what that means). I’m posting this because I found lots of info on headphones for gaming but not a proper setup for a console like the PS4.

If you’re looking for a great quality headset for gaming, you might run into some trouble like I did. I define quality as being made with solid materials and having awesome audio while having a decent mic to chat with other players.

Options within the quality gaming headset category are both limited and expensive. Take a stroll over to r/headphones to get their two cents on how and why gaming headsets are often overpriced and actually underperform their ticket price. This post in particular was very thorough and linked out to other really useful resources like Z Reviews

When my old headphones broke I started exploring options for a new pair of cans. I wanted to get something great and didn’t mind spending a buck on it. As I researched I began to learn more about different types of headphones and what they offered in gaming. The problem I ran into is that the best pair of speakers you can put on your head are almost all headphones, not headsets (meaning headphones do not have a mic equipped). But I’m playing on a PS4 so that changes the game some, PC might have some different avenues. The PS4 dualshock controller (as of 2016, possibly earlier) has proprietary restrictions as to what headsets can plug-in and work with it so creating a DIY headset (independent headphones and mic) was tricky. I tried a workaround with getting an aux plug-in adapter that had “4 poles ” to use with the DS4 controller but it didn’t trick the controller nor did unplugging and re-plugging in headphones with a mic. Others have had success with it but not me.

I ended up getting a USB to headphone and mic input adapter. This way you can buy whatever headphones you want and whatever mic you want and pair them together by plugging them into your PS4 USB port. You are tethered by a wire but I have read that there is lag with basically any wireless setup so I wouldn’t recommended them, especially if you’re into online FPS.

My setup is:

—Open air headphones: Audio Technical 900x ($130)

There are other versions of these headphones like the 500x for around $75 as well as the 2000x for $600+
-I would also explore the Superlux HD668B Semi-Open Headphones ($40) as they are relatively inexpensive have replaceable ear pads and have glowing reviews.

Attachable mic I haven’t gotten comments on how I sound which can only be a good thing. I have asked how it sounds and “fine to me” is usually the answer I get.

USB adapter w/ headphones + mic auxiliary inputs

-Also you might want to get a USB cable extender if the phones and/or mic you go with don’t have long cables.

I would venture a guess that most any version of the above 3 components would work together. I am really enjoying my setup and have been using it for about 2 months now. The “soundstage” on open headphones is a really different experience, instead of being closed off by noise cancelling headphones it now feels like everything is happening around me. I had a pair of beats Studios (gen 2) that were pretty good but I would definitely recommend giving “open” style headphones a try. The beats seem puny in comparison, not just in physical size but also in output quality.

I hope this is of benefit to you. I spent a lot of time researching, reading and watching reviews, figuring out what would work on a PS4 and deliberating on what pieces to buy. I am by no means an audiophile so this is just the research of a lay person that wanted great sound and is enjoying what they found.

TL;DR Don’t buy a gaming headset if you want awesome sound. You can get a great, probably better, setup on your own and likely save a bit of money in the process by DIY.

1 point

·

25th Jun 2017

Looking for a pair of Open Back & Over Ear Headphones. I’m mainly using it to play Games, listen to Music, and other Desktop Usage. I don’t need portability. As for price, I’m looking for something between $100-$140. Also, would prefer Mid Forward or Neutral sound.

Idea 1 – Audio Technica ATH-AD900X

Idea 2 – Sennheiser HD 558

Any other thoughts?

1 point

·

10th May 2017

I edited my original comment to indicate you should try to find AD700s used somewhere if at all possible. If not, you can look at the AD900X or AD700X.

1 point

·

10th Mar 2017

I want to talk about the headset choice mostly. If you want to spend like $250 on a gaming headset then my suggestion would be to not do that.

Check out the /r/headphones subreddit and make a post in their headphone advice/suggestion thread.

I’m not sure what headphones to suggest you because I’m not sure what kind of music you like or where you plan on using the headphone but all three of these would be much better than the headphones in your PCPartPicker list:

Audio Technica ATH-AD900X

Sennheiser HD598

Philips Fidelio X2

1 point

·

9th Feb 2017

I’d probably recommend something like the Audio-Technica ATH- AD900X or the Sennheiser HD 598. IMO, both will be better than either of those.

Maybe you could check out /r/headphones? I think they have a daily suggestion thread.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2017

First thing I want to mention is when you reply to others, be sure to click the ‘reply’ directly below their post. If you do that then my and others little e-mail box at the top right will glow orange just like yours did. If you just reply to your own thread, then I would of never known unless I actually came back and read your post again. 🙂

Here are some upgrades or my suggestions and are obviously completely up to you my friend:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

TypeItemPrice
CPUIntel Core i5-7500 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor$196.33 @ OutletPC
MotherboardGigabyte GA-B250M-DS3H Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard$73.98 @ Newegg
MemoryG.Skill Ripjaws V Series 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory$53.99 @ Newegg
Video MSI Radeon RX 480 8GB GAMING X Video $244.99 @ Amazon
CaseNZXT S340 (Black/Red) ATX Mid Tower Case$59.99 @ B&H
Power SupplyEVGA BQ 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply$49.99 @ Amazon
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total$679.27
Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-02-24 20:05 EST-0500
  • Upgraded to an i5 processor. It’s one of the newest.

  • Dropped CPU Cooler and the Paste. Your CPU will come with it’s own CPU Cooler. If you just had it for the theme then I tried to fit some of that back in other places.

  • 1 x 8 GB of RAM so you can add another 8 GB stick for 16 GB later.

  • The RX 480 is better than the GTX 1060. It looks about identical to the GTX 1060.

  • Cheaper case with the Black/Red since I got rid of your CPU Cooler.

  • More reliable PSU, IMO. I just feel like EVGA have been absolutely killing it in the PSU area. SeaSonic has fallen a bit unless you’re into the $100+ PSUs.

  • My headphone recommendation would be to not get a ‘gaming’ headset again and instead get a music headphone built by a music company that would also be great for gaming. Two good examples would be the Audio Technica ATH-AD900X or the Sennheiser HD598. There are others, but I don’t know your music tastes, so you may also like the /r/headphones subreddit. 🙂

Feel free to ask any questions!

1 point

·

15th Jan 2017

On the case of your wants for a wide soundstage, the AD900x is in fact a great choice, but has bass quality over quantity and are very focused and have extreme treble and upper mid clarity. They are in fact good for games like CS:GO, but if you want to play battlefield with them, you’ll want something like X2s which stretch your budget a bit, but are compatible with the VModa BoomPro which is great for the price but doesn’t work with everything.

Your PC360s are Sennheiser HD595s with an attached mic basically, and the 595s don’t have the widest soundstage at the price of either the 595s or the PC360s.

You may need an amp/dac combo for your 900x, so you can get something like this, which will power it just fine, but if you’re on a desktop with a good motherboard, you should be fine.

Also if you can buy the AD900x from USA amazon, they are like $176CAD which is extremely cheap.

1 point

·

24th Jan 2017

Your build looks great to be honest. You don’t really have to upgrade anything, maybe add a 240 GB SSD?

Other than that, I would look outside of your desktop computer like investing in a really great pair of non-gaming headphones. You’d probably like headphones made for music but also great for gaming like [Audio-Technica ATH-AD900X](https://www.amazon.com/Technica-ATH-AD900X-Open-Back-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S331VU/ or Sennheiser HD598.

1 point

·

25th Jan 2017

Ditch ‘gaming’ headsets forever. Gaming is just an advertising word used by companies towards people who play video games (gamers) and their families. You don’t want to buy something from Logitech, a company who also makes mice, keyboards, webcams, ‘gaming’ headsets and so on.

What you want are headphones built for music by a real music company that would also be great for video games. I can tell you that you’ll probably want something ‘open’ that will leak some sound but in exchange, you get great ‘soundstage’ which is great for music/gaming. I don’t know your specific music tastes, so I’m just going to give you some basic recommendations:

Audio Technica ATH-AD900X

Sennheiser HD598

Beyerdynamic DT 990, these you would need a sound card or DAC/AMP for.

Go check out /r/headphones and their Daily Headphone Purchase thread. You won’t regret it. 🙂

1 point

·

16th Dec 2016

> Plastic connector thing that goes over the head.

you mean the headband cracked?

You could go for an open back headset with no headband 😛

ATH AD900X has a &quot;3D-wing design&quot; and is a great headphone for classical music and gaming. The AD900X has an insanely large soundstage and very good imaging. In terms of tonality it has a mostly neutral sound with a mild emphasis in the treble regions.

1 point

·

24th Aug 2016

I use these at the office, however they are open back so someone else in the room will be able to hear them faintly. Very comfortable and great sound for the money.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009S331VU/

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2016

+1 for open backed headphones. right now i’m using the Audio Technica ATH-AD900X.

1 point

·

4th May 2016

Thanks!

Do you think these headphones with this amp would be a good combo?

The price on the Audio Technica is very reasonable.

And do you think there’s a big difference between the AD900X and the AD1000X? The price difference is double, but I’m not really sure what I would be gaining for that extra $150.

1 point

·

16th May 2016

I would avoid ‘gaming’ headphones as they’re not as good as headphones meant for music (which are also great for gaming because of their ‘sound stage’). I’d probably recommend something like the Audio Technica ATH-AD900X and then adding a standalone mic such as the Blue Snowball Ice.

Check out /r/headphones 🙂

1 point

·

20th Mar 2016

Well since the Roccat you had before was worth $150, I’ll use that as a baseline. If you’re willing to spend the same amount for only headphones, I’d say go with the Audio Technica ATH-AD900X. If you want to get a mic with it, get this Sony ECMCS3. if you wanna save some cash, you can go with the AD700X or AD500X and buy the sony mic i linked. Another alternative is the Philips SHP9500 (which is what I use for gaming) with a V-Moda Boom Pro Gaming Mic. if you also wanna step up your microphone game, you can also get a ATR2100. I say that mic and not a blue yeti or snowball because the 2100 is a dynamic mic, which means it doesn’t pick up a lot of background noise. This is useful since the AD series and the SHP9500 are all open back headphones so the sound leaks out. this is great for gaming though, since it provides a wider sound stage and helps with positioning in games.

1 point

·

27th Mar 2016

These. great sound quality with excellent soundstage for positional audio as well.

1 point

·

20th Mar 2016

> 363D’s

Ahh you have Sennheiser’s. Open back ones to boot. Those aren’t actually too bad. Of course you can buy similar headphones for 100 bucks. The reason those cost an extra 100 is because it has a built in mic and has “gaming” on the box. And because gamers expect gaming headphones to be 7.1 they put that little bit in there. I’d still turn off 7.1 where ever possible but the superlux headphones perhaps might not be worth the investment now? If you want a true upgrade go with the AD900x, the pair that I own. Review of their slightly cheaper brother the AD500x. You can also try the
Phillips 9500. They’ve gotten great reviews so far. Both of these headphones have a huge soundstage which means they create the illusion that the sound is happening in the same room as you’re in and not just sound happening inside your head. Your Sennheisers likely do a good enough job as they’re open back cans but the ones I linked are REALLY open back.

I didn’t know you had Sennheisers. Those aren’t terrible. Basically you’re looking at stepping up your game now.

Edit – Oh sorry I didn’t answer your other question. Basically that little device that you plug your headphones in is a DAC (digital to analog converter). Your computer, when you play an mp3 or something sees the music as 0’s and 1’s. Human beings don’t speak binary computer languages. So that device turns the code into an analog sound which our ears hear! Yay!. Not all DAC’s are the same. Some do a better job than others, scooping out more detail to give to your ears. All devices have one… all of them. Otherwise you couldn’t hear anything at all. Phones, motherboards, mp3 players ect. Unless your motherboard is crap the DAC inside of it is likely just fine. If you have a REALLY nice motherboard then that device might not be as good as your built in DAC.

I’d do a test to see which one is better. Try and get the volumes the same on both devices and switch back and forth. Ignore the fact that the little DAC has 7.1. If the source is in stereo enjoy it in stereo. If the source is binural then the work is done for you. Or you change the settings in the video game to “headphone mode”.

You can go one step further and buy a DAC or a DAC Amplifier combo device. Not all headphones need extra juice to power them but sometimes you can get a bit more detail out of your audio just by having one. Here’s a list to get you going on them. I bought the SMSl 793 to give my headphones more detail and volume. The need factor was small. My motherboard handled them just fine but I wanted a bit of extra bite and also to remove my DAC from the inside of my computer. I also gained a volume nob RIGHT next to my keyboard which is amazing.

1 point

·

13th Dec 2015

I’ve read great reviews about the AD900x in fact I ordered a pair yesterday.

1 point

·

24th Jul 2015

Open headphones are designed to leak the sound as it improves the performance, however you then have to deal with leaking sound, closed headphones are the ones you will have seen before.

AD900x, HD598 and M50x are possible headphones. The M50x’s are quite bassy but have poor sound positioning, the HD598 have a neutral sound and okay sound positioning and the AD900x have incredibly good sound positioning.

1 point

·

30th Jul 2015

I’d recommend something like this and adding a mic to it. /r/headphones should be a great place to look.

1 point

·

19th May 2015

Budget

200-250 GPB

Source

PC Motherboard

Samsung Note 4

I have access to a Xonar D2X but I think it is fried (my CPU fan was too big and it touched the circuit board, stopped working later)

Isolation

Doesn’t matter. Never tried open headphones.

Past headphones

Razer Tiamat 7.1

Bluebuds X

Preferred music

Varies a lot. But Daft Punk, Pink Floyd, sometimes classical/theatrical music, deep house, electro swing, 60s-70s-80s and early 90s.

Location

Sweden

Potential Setup

AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-AD900X
and FiiO E10K

Info?

I play a lot of games, so soundstage (i think the term is) is important for me (locate sounds of enemies and such(hence the 7.1 headset)) I also watch a lot of TV shows, game commentaries on youtube and movies.

Main thought is if headset suits my needs and if the amp/dac is good (or even needed).

Edit: Do I need a headphone rest/holder stand thingy?

1 point

·

29th Mar 2015

Please follow the format. I don’t know what audio chip is build in your gaming pc, so I can’t tell for sure, but the A500X can be used directly form the mobo and don’t need a dedicated amp. If you experience electrical distortion, hissing, electrical noise from GPU etc., you should try different ports on the PC first. If the problems consists, a budget otpion like the FiiO E10K is powerful enough to drive the A500X up to 120dB.

The A500X are closed back, which means good isolation and less outside noise. But this also hampers soundstage which is essential for positioning in games. If you don’t require isolation and there’s noone around who gets disturbed by your gamesound get the ATH-AD900X, which are currently very cheap on amazon.

If you want to consider other brands:

  • Sennheiser HD598 or 558
  • Beyerdynamic DT770 32/80 Ohm

I assume you already have a mic..if not ModMic

1 point

·

30th Jan 2015

I was going to post the other related video from these guys. On their advice I bought an Audio Technica AD-900x and the Antlion ModMic and have not looked back. I think they are right that getting good quality headphones and mic separately is a much better idea than and all-in-one headset. The quality is way above even more expensive headsets I’ve tried.

edit: here is the other video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8dj5G0isn9Y

1 point

·

29th Jan 2015

I’m going to get either the AD900x, HD598, or the Q701 for gaming and music (Leaning towards the Q701s). With whatever i choose i will also probably be getting the Fiio E10K. Now the main part i’m asking about is that i’m coming from a Turtle Beach PX22 headset. The inline amplifier on this i LOVE. As you can see in these pictures, the amplifier features bass and treble adjustment, game volume and chat volume are separate and independently adjustable, I can hear my own voice as i speak, and i can play music into the auxiliary port in it. So i’m wondering if it would be wise to setup all this in a way to integrate both this amp and the E10K. My current idea is to plug the E10K into the computer, then the PX22 amp into the E10K and obviously the headphones into the PX22 amp. So will this setup work? if not, is there any amp that offers a lot of the features the PX22 amp does? Thank you

0 points

·

14th Nov 2015

Audio Technica do GREAT Headphones if you want soundstage for gaming. But some people don’t like the “wings” on the headband.

These being the better one in your price range.

Edit: made it a link that’s actually useful to Canadians.