What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Audio-Technica ATH-AD500X Audiophile Open-Air Headphones, Black (AUD ATHAD500X)?

A total of 84 reviews of this product on Reddit.

13 points

·

6th Jul 2018

Open back is the way to go

for real anybody looking to get into good headphones on a budget, my favorite cheap set here

2 points

·

14th Apr 2019

I would recommend open back and suggest Audio Technica ATH AD500x. I found a pair on Amazon for 72$ so hopefully thats close enough.

I have the 900x ( their big brother) with sheepskin ear pads and I love them. The soundstage is vast and precise and I hear that they Are great for gaming

Audio-Technica ATH-AD500X Audiophile Open-Air Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009S333U4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_zhQSCbZC68XB1

1 point

·

20th Sep 2021

Audio-Technica ATH-AD500X https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009S333U4

These are what I use, and I am happy with them but if you have money to spend you can probably buy a better set. You’ll probably need extra equipment for some of the more prestigious options out there… But in my opinion most people probably won’t tell the difference…

1 point

·

27th Aug 2021

>Have you tried open backed headphones? I got these headphones a while back and while I don’t use them anymore the soundstage on them was amazing.
>
>It’s also possible it’s a computer setting that’s messed up.

Interesting, why does them being open backed help

1 point

·

26th Aug 2021

Have you tried open backed headphones? I got these headphones a while back and while I don’t use them anymore the soundstage on them was amazing.

It’s also possible it’s a computer setting that’s messed up.

1 point

·

25th Jul 2021

I’ve had these: http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-AD500X-Audiophile-Open-Air-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4/

For about 5 years now and love them. There are very lightweight, comfortable, and I love the open ear feel and sound quality. The only downside is the cord is a bit weighty and annoying, was wondering if there are any similar headphones that are wireless?

1 point

·

1st Apr 2021

https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-AD700X-Audiophile-Open-Air-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4/ref=psdc_12097479011_t1_B009S331VU?th=1

If you need a mic, I would get a stand alone. Will always be better. I am partial to the Yeti Snowball Ice since it is affordable and pretty good quality.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2020

Ath-ad500x or 700x might with a look. Go for sale on Amazon often(like right now they are https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-AD500X-Audiophile-Open-Air-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4). Soundstage is huge. Have the hd599 and the soundstage could’ve been wider for my liking.

1 point

·

17th Dec 2018

it is a nice finding, but I would pay some extra on the AD700X or wait for a better deal on the AD500X to get at the same price.
https://www.amazon.ca/Audio-Technica-ATH-AD500X-Fidelity-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4

You can turn them all in a headset by gluing a modmic. It is almost as good as an adg1x but 100 bucks cheaper. I think the AD700X is the same specs as the adg1x

Edit: When I say gluing, it is not glue or any variation, usually it is a stick tape, sometimes with better quality than others (there are plenty of people complaining about the longevity of those). Thanks for helping me fixing the misunderstanding @LifelongCaboose

1 point

·

8th Nov 2018

I own these Audio Technica ATH-AD500x.

I was wondering if anyone could recommend a replacement earpads that I c an buy from amazon bonus points if they’re leather.

1 point

·

12th Jan 2018

Budget – <€150
Source – Laptop (xps 15).

Requirements for Isolation – I want them to be open back. No isolation needed.

Preferred Type of Headphone – Full Size

Preferred tonal balance – I’m okay with pretty balanced headphones, a bit more bass is ok aswel.

Past headphones – I’m currently using sennheiser Hd25’s as my headphones when I need to have isolation and when I’m travelling ( I bought them because the should be “indestructible”). I also have a pair of Superlux HD-668B which I’m looking to replace.

Preferred Music – Drum and Bass, HipHop, some alternative rock.

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – I’d like a really open back headphone, they seem to be easier to study with, since it’s more like listening to speakers, I’m not always as focussed on the music (idk if that makes sense, I just prefer speakers/open headphones when studying). It should also improve my movie expierinces

Other Thoughts – They’d have to be available in Belgium. I found these : Ath-AD 500x , but I’m not sure if they’re worth it they seem pretty good and the discount seems nice (althought they’re onlly $65 in the US without any discount).

Beyerdynamic DT990 PROs also seem nice, but I doubt they’ll reach their full potential when only driven by a laptop.

I’ve also found the grado headphones quite interesting but they seem to be a bit more expensive here than in the US…

Thanks in advance!

1 point

·

29th Dec 2017

Yeah I will be working in a relatively small space. I see some open backs here

https://www.amazon.com/Technica-AUD-ATHAD500X-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4?tag=headphcompar-20&amp;th=1

That I’ll look into.

What kind of instruments were you samplings? That interests me

1 point

·

21st Nov 2017

Here’s what you do. You use you Razer Kraken Headphones as your mic. So keep it plugged in and right click the sound icon then “recording devices” making sure your Kraken is set as default.

Then order these https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009S333U4/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_4?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1&amp;smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

And use them as your default playback device since that doesn’t have a mic. (right click sound icon, playback devices and select the headphones as default device and default communications device)

That way you’re using your kraken as a mic, while hearing all audio from the headphones.

1 point

·

11th Oct 2017

What mic would you recommend for discord? I might include the audio in some gameplay, but it’s mostly just for voice chat.

I bought some AudioTechnica ATH-AD500X headphones recently and the mic I’m using right now is low quality, very old, and really awkward to set up (It’s a standalone, but it needs to be right at my mouth to get the volume I want without cranking up the gain)

I don’t want to spend a fortune on a mic (ideally under $30), but I care more about value than cost, so I’ll spend a little extra if the benefits are noticeable.

1 point

·

21st Jun 2017

Hello wondering if these are any good for gaming?
Audio Technica ATH-AD500X On-Ear-Kopfhörer (6,3mm Klinkenstecker) schwarz https://www.amazon.de/dp/B009S333U4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_imPszbG3G000Z

And open- vs closed back what would you advice for gaming?

1 point

·

8th May 2017

> Sure I can run a headset from my phone while listening to the game through my stereo system…

I know you are just making a (valid) point but if anyone is actually looking for a solution, open-air headphones are fantastic.

1 point

·

13th Dec 2016

Ended up going with these https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009S333U4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1 . I’ll post my feeling on them in case somebody searches for head phones in here later.

Edit: Open back headphones are dope for home theater use. Instead of all noise seeming to come directly from your own skull, the sound is directional. A sound originating from the left of the screen that would usually come from the left speaker actually sounds like it’s coming from the left of the screen. They also don’t blot out all noises from the house, so you can still be aware of your environment. Multiple times I’ve taken the headphones off trying to figure out if a noise was from the movie or inside the house.

Some notes about these specific headphones: Clarity is really good at all ranges – better even than my 5.1 set up, and I kind of prefer them now due to both said clarity and also the directional quality. Somehow sounds can even seem to originate from behind or above me, which my surrounds on each side of the couch just don’t do. Trade off is base. When there’s an explosion, my 300 watt sub’ll make me feel it. I doubt there’s any headphones that’ll do that, but these open back ones have even less than my older and cheaper closed back Phillips’.

1 point

·

9th Jun 2016

Seems like OP did not know about the soundstage of Superlux being very similar to the AKG K240 which is not good enough for gaming purposes. What I would recommend for such is the Audio Technica AUD ATHAD500X Audiophile Open-Air Headphones. Pricier but most should take it as an investment since you’ll be using them for a long time. Currently using an AKG K240S for 4 years now.

1 point

·

10th Jun 2016

My headphones that I use are nothing near surround sound, but I can still locate people fine now, raise the volume a bit and see if that improves.

1 point

·

22nd May 2016

So I currently have a pair of Audio Technica ATH-AD500X open-air headphones. I’ve been using them for quite a while and I like them a lot, but I’m guessing by merit of the price tag alone these DT 770s would be a good upgrade choice if I wanted a closed back headphone option?

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2015

USB headsets are terrible. You might be alright without a soundcard, if you need one then you could buy it later on.

An open headphone like the AD500x would be within budget.

By sound preference I mean neutral, bassy, V-shaped, bright, dark etc.

1 point

·

19th Sep 2015

Which headset would you say is a better deal, the one you just suggested, or this one
I found suggested in another sub?

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2015

Headphones already do sound positioning well, better than headsets because they are designed properly.

http://www.amazon.com/Technica-AUD-ATHAD500X-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1438624423&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=ad500x

Those will have better sound positioning than any headset, but they are open back so they’ll leak sound. That leaves $21 for a mic.

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2015

5.1/7.1 is all simulated w/ software in headphones. I have These Cans and in CS:GO I’m hearing everything infinity better than I was w/ my steelseries headset. I tried it out again for giggles and everything sounded so muddy. Never going back to gaming branded headphones.

Of everything you listed, I’d probably do the gamecom 780. No sense in paying a premium price for a marketing label.

May I ask why those are your only options? Is it in a store?

1 point

·

18th Jul 2015

I would try stretch to these

http://www.amazon.com/Technica-AUD-ATHAD500X-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4/ref=sr_1_2?&amp;s=electronics&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1437249322&amp;sr=1-2&amp;keywords=audio+technica+open+ear

USB just ain’t gonna happen, you’d need an external DAC (and not a totally crappy one that’s worse than onboard).

1 point

·

21st Jul 2015

I’d be skeptical about that. Mechanical keyboards don’t really become available until the $60-$70 price point and that would be w/ “knock off” switches (some mech snobs will tell you there’s a difference. I can’t really say personally) You may get lucky though and come across a great deal.

For headphones, I personally use these with a ModMic from AntLion. Bit out of your price range but the headphones are super comfortable and the audio is the best I’ve heard from anything I’ve used.

1 point

·

3rd Jun 2015

I’d recommend just getting some nice open air headphones like the ATH AD500x and buying a mic rather than buying “gaming” headsets with horrible build quality and sound, and a cheesy look.

1 point

·

13th Jun 2015

Officially i do not recommend the M50X for gaming, as it is a bit pricey and it is a closed headphone.

But it is not a bad headphone by any means, i generally recommend these because they sound great are are MASSIVELY open, so positional audio is awesome (Do NOT use any simulated surround nonsense, just use the normal stereo mode and set your games to “headphones if they have it, stereo if they do not).

1 point

·

24th May 2015

Has to edit out the camelcamelcamel affiliate stuff.

Saw this pop up on camelcamelcamel, I can’t currently afford it but figured someone on this subreddit could. It’s a third party seller, but Amazon customer review basically guarantees your money safety.

http://www.amazon.com/Technica-AUD-ATHAD500X-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4?psc=1&amp;SubscriptionId=AKIAJ7T5BOVUVRD2EFYQ

1 point

·

22nd Mar 2015

It’s not exactly within budget, but hear me out. I used to swear by the Siberia V2, for me its comfort trumped everything else, but I recently found the ATH-AD500X. I got them through Amazon for $75 from some cheapo Japanese etailer. They have a similar design to the Siberia V2, much better audio quality, and they are waaaaay more comfy.

Currently the cheapest you can get it for on Amazon is $95, but keep an eye on it once you’ve got some left over cash.

Here’s a link to the Amazon page.

Edit: spelling.

1 point

·

20th Jan 2015

It’s truthfully the best sound that you can get for the price. Watch Tek Syndicate’s review

EDIT: Also if you stretch you budget a bit you can get these.

15 points

·

28th Nov 2018

Well technically closed or open back alone doesn’t really make a headphone better or worse for positioning, tuning also plays a big role in how headphones make sounds, because while some headsets may share the same guts as another pair of headphones (as is the case here and the hd500 series), one pair can be tuned to have more bass and the other can be tuned more towards the high end to help identify footsteps or whatever.

Biggest thing is usually soundstage and imaging get better as more air vibrations are allowed in and out of the headphones. Soundstage is the feeling of how sound isn’t coming from headphones, but the illusion that it’s from outside the headphones. Imaging is how well individual sounds, like footsteps or gunshots in games or instruments in music, can be identified within the soundstage. Opening the back up does come with a disadvantage of reducing lower frequencies. Because there is nothing stopping the air behind the driver in open back headphones, you don’t get pressure there, like a sub woofer, and that means you can’t have the rumble effect you usually get with a lot closed backs. That being said if you’re more focused on competitive gaming, emphasizing on high and mid frequencies will make footsteps easier to locate.

If you’re really interested and want to dive into what makes headphones different and have the time, watch this video. It’s a long video and the guy is typically pretty scatterbrained, but this video offers a lot of insight in one place.

I haven’t heard these specifically, but I’ve heard the hd558 and hd598, which both use the same drivers as this headset and those have a decently wide soundstage and pretty good imaging, so I’d say positioning for the price is B+ maybe an A-. If you really want to soundwhore in games and don’t care about the mic, the AD Series from Audio Technica are ridiculously accurate, but the version with the mic costs quite a lot.

5 points

·

16th Sep 2016

It’s basically a Audio- Technica AD500 or AD700 (The AD700X and AD500X sound essentially the same, as far as I can tell, while the X versions might have slightly more bass). The AD900 would be an improvement on this sound signature towards neutrality, whereas something like an AKG K7xx would be a substantial increase on the low end of this sound signature, and a decrease in the peakiness of the treble, which creates an overall similar sound signature, but one which is much more pleasing to most people.

In terms of an actual label- it’s mids focused, with a 10k peak.

Link to measurements- AD500

Link to Amazon- AD500X

Link to measurements- AD700

Link to Amazon- AD700X

1 point

·

21st Feb 2018

That’s a tough question in this price range. The ATH-AD500x is around $70 and will offer substantially better soundstage and imaging at the price of bass.

The AKG K240 or M220 are between $60 and $70 and are harder to drive and a little more neutral.

1 point

·

9th Oct 2017

I know it’s not exactly one of the ones you recommended, but do you have any opinion about the ATHAD500X?

1 point

·

21st Sep 2017

but not for 150EUR, that’s ~180USD 😛

compared to the US price

1 point

·

20th Aug 2017

I’m looking to get some headphones rather than a gaming headset but I know next to nothing when it comes to looking for headphones, from researched I think I should be getting open back headphones(?)

I’ve been looking at Audio-Technica AH500x but not too keep on the headbars going over the top

Also looked at Beyerdynamic DT 990 which look like they’d be comfy but not sure how they’d be for gaming

Lastly looked at the Audio-Technica M50s now these are closed back so don’t know if that would be good or bad for gaming?

Anyone with some experiences for these?

These are all round my rough budget and will be getting plugged into my Audio-Technica mic (may get an amp at some point)

1 point

·

12th Jun 2017

My head and ears are big. Anything I buy, they are small and tight.

Looking for: bluetooth, less than $100, around the ear.

I purchased Cowin E-7, August EP650. Both tight. Cowin E-7 sounds better but tighter.

Any suggestions?

Seems like I need bluetooth version of:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009S333U4/ref=twister_B01MRBHRCL?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1

or

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ENMK1DW/ref=psdc_12097479011_t3_B003JOETX8#CustomerImages

I couldn’t find anything so far.

1 point

·

3rd May 2017

I believe the Audio Technica’s you are referring to are the ATH-AD500x

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2017

Hi guys, I am looking for headphones ideal for gaming, especially FPS (primarily CS:GO). My two top picks are Audio-Technica’s ATHAD500X and the Sennheiser HD598. If you have any other suggestions that you think are better, then please recommend them.

Isolation-None

Budget – Flexible, however, ideally nothing over $200.
Source – PC Aux port

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? No.

Preferred tonal balance – I’m a noob when it comes to auditory specifications. All I know is I need headphones with ideally large soundstage and clarity to hear distinct, yet soft noises (e.g. a sudden footstep).

Past headphones – I borrowed a friend’s ATHAD500x (listed below). I liked it, but I was wondering how it would compare to the Sennheiser HD598.

Audio Technica AUD ATHAD500X Audiophile Open-Air Headphones

–OR–

Sennheiser HD-598

Assuming price is not a significant factor, would the Sennheisers provide me significant better soundstage and clarity and a better overall gaming experience than the AT’s listed?

1 point

·

16th Jan 2017

Well these Audio Technica ATHAD500Xs are a cheaper version of the ATH-AD700Xs and they’re still pretty good, also it’s within your budget.

1 point

·

7th Jan 2017

Hey guys, I’m thinking about replacing my Skullcandy Slyr headset with a modmic and headphones. I’m kind-of between a few different options based on what I’ve found from various threads:

Audio Technica ATH500X / 900X

Sennheiser HD 598

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

–Info–

Budget: $150 or less (preferably less)

Source: Windows PC

Isolation Requirements: No requirements, I’ll be using these at home

Preferred Type: Full sized, over ear, whatever you call them.

Preferred Tonal Balance: I like it a little heavy on the bass (but am unsure if I’ll have to give this up since I play a lot of Overwatch and I think I need the soundstage?).

Past Headphones: Skullcandy Slyr

Preferred Music: Varies a lot, but a lot of Imagine Dragons

Looking To Improve: Sound quality.

I’m unsure about this open-backed thing (especially since I’ve heard the sound can bleed into a mic such as the modmic) and undecided on a soundcard because I’m still trying to figure how this virtual surround sound thing works. I wasn’t going to get an amp because I don’t like listening to music very loud. Thoughts?

1 point

·

9th Jan 2017

My budget is <$100

I’m looking to pull the trigger tonight on some over-ear headphones and I think I’ve narrowed it down to these:

Audio Technica 500X: https://www.amazon.com/Technica-AUD-ATHAD500X-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4

Philips SHP9500: https://www.amazon.com/Philips-SHP9500-Precision-Over-ear-Headphones/dp/B00ENMK1DW

Satus Audio CB-1: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BDX1IVW/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1&amp;smid=A30DTQ2AMNXSE

AKG K240: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0001ARCFA/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1&amp;smid=A1FMHNVWMGI839

Which of these should I go for? Or is there some better option for a comparable price?
Also, does anyone have a headphone stand they recommend?

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2017

this is what i went with for my headphones. they are absolutely amazing. then i popped a modmic onto them and used this for the wiring. best “gaming headset” ive ever had.

There is cheaper and more expensive options. but i really liked the aluminum frame, and open stage. its a sound like ive never had before. doesn’t feel like my games audio are being injected into my ear, but more like im there.

1 point

·

13th Dec 2016

Can vouch for the Audio Technica AUD ATHAD500X. Have had a pair for almost a year now and the quality is excellent. The open design creates a good soundscape for positional audio. Not the best for listening to music (bass is a bit weak), but for gaming they do really well at a pretty good price.

I slapped an Antlion Mod mic on the side and it holds well. Was worried the mesh design wouldn’t provide enough surface area for the mic’s adhesive backing, but it hasn’t so much as wiggled.

1 point

·

24th Nov 2016

Gonna need a number for the budget, medium and high mean very different things to different people.

Open headphones are generally better for competitive gaming due to a larger soundstage. From Audio Technica, that’ll be their ATH-AD series which ranges from the 500X to the 2000X. In between them are the 700X, 900X, and the 1000X, each costing more than the previous.

1 point

·

10th Sep 2016

Audio Technica AUD ATHAD500X or Philips SHP9500

Also wondering, im wanting these for a gaming headset (got a mic already, the V-moda) because what i have are closed and they hurt my ears after a long session, only thing that worries me is the lack of bass, since when i game i listen to hip-hop, wondering if its worth the trade off

1 point

·

28th Sep 2016

250?! Okay then, this will be fun 🙂

Just remember though, that higher number in headphones series does not always mean better. eg DT880 > DT770 is not always true. Yours focus more on bass and treble, while the middle ground is left out, Also called V shaped headphone. While the 880’s are neutral on most areas, while emphasizing mostly on the treble. Two completely different things, all comes down to taste 🙂






All AD headphones are fantastic, they do get increasingly better up untill 900x. Where the 2000x, 1000x and 900x can come down to taste. I prefer the 1000’s over the rest as they contain a bit of midbass, while the 2000’s are super clear and analytical, where those who listen to classical music will absolutely orgasm over them.
I’ve specifically bought AD velour earpads over the standard leather pads on my own headphones, because of the amazing comfort.



  • Philips X2/27 Fidelio Premium [$254.18] Detachable cable. Replaceable earpads.
    Often compared with Sennheiser HD600 [$400]. People have complained that the sound of the X2’s has been bad, but it turns out the headphones are actually exposing poorly mastered/rendered music. It also has a massive soundstage, this is a winner for games where listening matters. You can see impressions over at Head-Fi, these are people who own multiple headphones in the $1000 zone, so don’t be afraid of a mediocre rating.
    30ohm, so even a phone can power them fine.

  • Philips SHP9500 Open-Back [$75.95] Detachable cable.
    Said to be among the most comfortable objects one can place on the head. Also a very good soundstage, not in the X2’s category, but still good.


I know there is a boatload of things here to pick from, but promise me to research into these things and maybe find something else I haven’t mentioned. Headphones or headsets for that matter are an investment and should last +5 years.

Happy listening! 🙂

1 point

·

19th Jun 2016

I’m thinking Audio-Technica ATH-AD500X Open backed Hi-Fi headphones with Antlion Audio ModMic Attachable Boom Microphone, will I notice big difference between this and hyper x cloud in a game like overwatch?

Or sennheiser HD558

1 point

·

10th Jun 2016

If you can get it loud enough IMHO it’s fine.

I mainly got myself a cMoyBB solely because of bass boost and borrowing an Audio Technica ATH-AD500 New Model from a friend till it broke, unfortunately. Now currently driving an AKG K240S on the said amp and using a Koss PortaPro while on the go.

1 point

·

5th Jun 2016

I am stuck between these two headphones. Looking to spend less than $80. If have any other suggestions please let me know.

  1. Audio Technica AUD ATHAD500X
  2. Sennheiser HD518
1 point

·

4th Apr 2016

I don’t think at that price you’re going to get much in the way of quality wireless headphones, and even less if you absolutely need an attached microphone. I’ll go ahead and put in my vote for the Audio Technica ATH-AD500X’s, though it’s important to note that these are open-backed and may not suit your listening environment. If you want to spend a little more, the ATH-AD700X’s are the “step up” headphones. If you just want to dip your toe into the “real” headphone market, then the Superlux HD668B’s are about as cheap as I’d go.

You could pair those with either a cheap Zalman mic or go all-out and get a ModMic 4.0. I’ve heard that the ModMic can be a bit tricky to attach to the open-backed Audio Technicas, but I can’t personally confirm that.

TekSyndicate has an excellent YouTube video on this topic that I highly recommend. It’s what got me started on headphones in the first place 🙂

1 point

·

13th Mar 2016

You could go for a pair of AD500X’s with a mic, but if you can afford, then the AD700x’s are a bit of a jump in sound quality. These are both open headphones, you’ll be getting much a better sound stage than any headset on the market.

1 point

·

10th Mar 2016

I am buying a new headset to use for VR, gaming, and for music. I am done using cheap $20 USB headsets. My kids are at the age I can tell them not to touch my headphones. So this is my into into good sound.

I have settled on an open backed headset from reading many reviews and because I hate the feeling of suction cups on my head.

Audio-Technica ATH-AD500X Audiophile Open-Air Headphones
Seemed like a really nice option in my price range.

I would also probably get: Antlion Audio Muted ModMic I like the ability to clip it to my monitor or headset if I like.

I have an on Board HD VIA AUDIO (VT2020) on my GIGABYTE (GA-Z77X-UD3H) motherboard.

Should I also save up for a better sound card?

Any other recommendations with:

  • price range ($200CAD)
  • open back (heard it sounds better and I need to hear those damn kids)
  • stereo (no need for weird 5.1/7.1 as I will be using this for VR as well)
  • Mic (I like ModMic 4.0 or built in mic)
1 point

·

11th Feb 2016

I’ve been using a pair of audio technica headphones and they have been working great, I’m not an audiophile or anything so they sound just perfect for me. The open style does make a difference though, also it makes it so my ears don’t really get hot when using it for long periods of time. And along with an antlion mod mic it blows any ~130$ headset out of the water.

Link to the headphones
http://www.amazon.com/Technica-AUD-ATHAD500X-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4

Edit: also link to the mod mic website

http://www.modmic.com/

1 point

·

30th Jan 2016

I’ve got the Audio-Technica ATH-AD500X’s and I’m wondering if I should get a DAC, specifically the DacMagic XS. Is it worth it if I mainly stream music from this site and non-premium Spotify and movies?
Thx in advance 😀

1 point

·

3rd Dec 2015

I’ve been looking at these two for about a week for an inexpensive (about 150) headset upgrade.

Audio Technica ATH-AD500X Not very strong on the bass, but very clear mid and high ranges. Very open sound stage.

Sennheiser HD 558 Decent quality in all ranges. Open sound stage, but not as much as the Audio Technica.

1 point

·

27th Nov 2015

Hey no problem, but if your wife has a problem with you being immersed then maybe you can convince her lol.

They’re big ear cans but super comfy as hell and the game audio is awesome. You can do it cheaper at about half price by going for something like ATH-AD500X but these don’t have a mic, but you could buy an inline mic like v-moda

1 point

·

7th Sep 2015

AD500x, AD700x, AD900x, M40x, K612, HD598, HD558, L1, SR-125e. That is a selection of options. Try reading some reviews and asking in the /r/headphones daily advice thread.

1 point

·

15th Aug 2015

I recently purchased the AudioTechnica ATH AD500X Headphones and the earpads are too thin for my liking. I found earpads that I am considering buying, but I need help choosing between the Velour and the Leather type. Can anyone explain the difference in sound between Velour and Leather pads? Any help in choosing between the two, or pointing me in the direction of a different earpad would be great. Not looking to spend too much money, but any suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance!

1 point

·

20th Jul 2015

They’re good for an all in one solution and from what I’ve read are pretty close to HX CLOUD II in sound quality. Personally, 7.1 is only good in home theater situations and aside from that is pretty much a gimmick for “gaming” purposes.

TeK Syndicate put together an awesome guide for budget headphones and if you’re budget allows they also put up a Guide for the $150 dollar budget.

I went with some Audio Technica 500x and ModMic 4.0

1 point

·

14th Jun 2015

Specifically these ones.

1 point

·

29th May 2015

Holy balls, i really should upgrade my phone, those photos look like SLR stuff.

As for the Audio, you can get really nice headphones for less than $150 USD, like these, or these, or perhaps these and then just throw this onto said headphones (not sure if you can stick the modmic onto the logo on the 558, but you can use a desktop mic like this.

EDIT: Note, doing this may ruin your ability to use that 7.1 setup (depending heavily on what it is, if it is good, you may still enjoy using it, but speakers for gaming are quite unreliable, as they need to be positioned correctly for directionality (where sounds are coming form VS where it sounds like they are coming from) to work properly.

1 point

·

1st Mar 2015

He’s right, you know. If someone attempts to convince you that some sound product labelled “Gaming” is worth buying, they are lying or stupid.

If you don’t want to spend the time watching the linked Video for $50 budgets or the Video for $150 budgets, just buy these headphones and this microphone and attach, yes literally attach, the two.

These headphones will produce the highest quality audio you have ever heard, and your teammates will always understand what you say. Based on the current USD to GBP conversion rate you shouldn’t go over about £100… maybe £110

1 point

·

11th Jan 2015

Thank you! After looking into them and watching reviews I will go with these and a modmic

0 points

·

1st Jan 2017

This right here.

I did audiotechnica’s 700’s with a mod mic. Cost me like 115. Best headset ever

edit, wasnt the 700’s was this with this and this total cost about $130

0 points

·

27th Oct 2016

Don’t look into gaming headsets. Get a proper pair of headphones. If you like open backed headphones, you can get these Audio Technicas AD-500x for $80 and they’ll be better than any ‘gaming’ headset at that price range. Of course, if you need a mic you’ll need to get that separately. If you’re willing to spend more, an Antlion Modmic is one of the best ‘cheap’ solutions available.

0 points

·

21st Jul 2015

Gaming headsets are BAD. It’s just a strange anomaly in the audio world. You’re much better off with a good set of headphones and a $2 desktop mic. No joke.

I bought these recently and I love them.

http://www.amazon.com/Technica-AUD-ATHAD500X-Audiophile-Headphones/dp/B009S333U4/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1437448678&amp;sr=8-11&amp;keywords=audio+technica+headphones

Check out the Tech Syndicate videos below. Most helpful guide I’ve seen on the net.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fD-M1F6L4g

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgTnJ3JQQ0E

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8dj5G0isn9Y