What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Antlion Audio ModMic Wireless Attachable Boom Microphone for Headphones – Compatible with Windows, Mac, Linux, PS4/PS5, Any USB A Type Device?

A total of 27 reviews of this product on Reddit.

23 points

·

18th Nov 2020

lol I got that mic

Antlion Mod Mic Wireless https://www.amazon.com/Antlion-Audio-Attachable-Microphone-Headphones/dp/B07KQF165L

It’s great for turning high end headphones into a gaming headset. Mic pops off magnetically too.

I can fuckin confirm too, if the wireless connection decided to take a shit on me everyone on discord wants to choke me lol

2 points

·

4th May 2021

I have a pair of HD6xxs, if this sounds annoying, I can vouch for their wireless variant. It’s the same thing, minus the hassle. Granted it’s much more expensive.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KQF165L/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_imm_RYGC53JPRSM1DVHZ7W0B?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

2 points

·

1st Dec 2020

Are you looking for something like the ModMic Wireless?

You attach it to your headphones with a magnet. It’s wireless and sends audio to your PC via a USB receiver:

https://www.amazon.com/Antlion-Audio-Attachable-Microphone-Headphones/dp/B07KQF165L/

1 point

·

13th Feb 2022

Yeah that sounds about right, if you know the boompro mic fits the beats studio you have it should work with the PS4 controller as IIRC that accepts a combo 3.5mm jack for both audio and mic.

The only thing I don’t know is if it works on DS4windows.

There’ also another one but it’s a lot more expensive modmic wireless

1 point

·

6th Jan 2022

Thanks! I’m planning on getting this one

1 point

·

21st Dec 2021

Never be afraid to share constructive criticism, it helps a lot more than a few purely negative comments I’ve gotten lol. I definitely did notice that during recording but I use a Antlion ModMic at the moment and not sure how I’d lower the pop with my P’s and T’s with it since I already have to use Voicemeter Banana to increase the volume of it. I will see if I can look into it though. Tysm again for the advice!

1 point

·

28th Sep 2021

I have remade cables, when certain proprietary connectors were not available. It can be done.

It is however not something I recommend to anyone.

The wiring used in those mass produced cables are extremely fragile.

The wires are also coated, making them more difficult to solder.

I would recommend making or buying a custom cable that meets your taste (minus the microphone). and adding a ModMic Wireless

Or just using the one with the microphone when you need it.

1 point

·

25th Apr 2021

Recharging airpods is the best route to go, IMO, but just get the wireless modmic (or the wired one, even) and that should have you all set. 12+ hours battery life on the wireless one. Use it with whatever headphones you prefer.

1 point

·

17th Mar 2021

The sound quality for the wh-1000xm3 is truly subpar like what most reviews say and I 100% have no regrets buying it. However the call quality is just plain bad and is the only disadvantage. It doesn’t concern me but is a deal-breaker for some.
However, I strongly do suggest buying it, you will not regret it, trust me
If mic quality is really important to you, buy this accessory. Antlion Audio ModMic Wireless Attachable.
https://www.amazon.com/Antlion-Audio-Attachable-Microphone-Headphones/dp/B07KQF165L

1 point

·

25th Nov 2020

I proably will try it without it at first, btw this is the modmic. I mean if the mic is on the right side, it won’t pick up anything but on the left side it will for me so I’ll have to test this.

6 points

·

8th Jun 2021

Hey!

Da kenne ich mich zufällig relativ gut aus. Du hast bei kabellosen Headsets das folgende Problem: Entweder hast du guten Sound ODER gute Mikrofon-Qualität, beides zusammen existiert aktuell nicht. Was du aber machen kannst, ist folgendes: Du kannst Over-Ear-Kopfhörer kaufen ohne Mikrofon (zB Bose Quietcomfort II, Bose 700, Sony WH-1000XM5 (kommen erst raus)) und dann Folgendes dazu:

AntLion Audio ModMic Kabellos https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07KQF165L/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_67H5CXSE016PQ5XAWX3J

Das ModMic kannst du dann abnehmen oder am Kopfhörer befestigen.

Hier ein gutes Video, was die Problematik erklärt von einem mit Ahnung

Edit: Kleiner Nachtrag:
Auch wenn ich ein Fan von Sennheiser bin, Kriegen die es nicht geschissen, ihre sehr guten Kopfhörer mit guter Bluetooth-Software auszustatten. Du ärgerst dich da einfach nur drüber.

1 point

·

30th Nov 2021

Although I’ve stopped using over the ear headsets because of the same issues you’re reporting (the headaches, sore jaws, and pressure), I’ve actually went out to invest on custom IEMs (in ear monitors) along with a modmic from Amazon that worked very well for me. I’ve also heard Lavaliers work just fine as well, if saving a few would help. These helped me solve all my pain issues, and I can use them for long hours without issues. If you’d like some starter recs, I highly recommend CCA/KZs (always pick up the ones without the mics, because their mics are horrible, also, both names are sister brands), or Moondrops if you’d like something in the mid-tier.

Just to help you out (although I never used these before, but recommended by friends), many of my gaming friends had recommended the Steelseries Arctis 7. Here’s a in depth detailed review that I found really helpful, but I can’t say for sure if that would fit your requirements being for smaller head shapes.

If you’re more for the audio quality, Audio Technica, Sennheiser, and BeyerDynamics are the top brands that has gaming headsets, but quite pricey.

Here’s some of my research done that had me steering away from gaming headsets. Although some sources are dated, I still believe it applies to the products today. Hope it helps you somewhat, too:

Gaming Headsets vs. Headphones As Fast As Possible (YouTube)

Gaming Headsets vs Studio Headphones: WHICH IS BETTER (YouTube)

Why you should Game with Earbuds and IEMs (YouTube)

Real vs Gaming Headphones?! (YouTube)

Building Ultimate Ears Custom In-Ear Monitors Start to Finish (YouTube)

Do Not Buy Gaming Headsets | Why You’re Wasting Your Money. (Reddit post/article)

Gaming audio and you. Why (99.5% of) gaming headsets suck, and how you can enter the world of high fidelity sound on a gaming headset budget! (super long article on reddit with detailed information / explanation. I highly recommend trying the virtual barber shop section to prove you don’t need gaming headsets for surround sound that most gaming headsets states on their packaging.)

1 point

·

21st Oct 2021

I bought this Bluetooth mic. There is no other solution.

1 point

·

6th May 2021

Antlion Audio ModMic Wireless Attachable Boom Microphone for Headphones – Compatible with PC, Mac, Linux, PS4, Any USB A Type https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KQF165L/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_14SQZR6GV6BJ1N6PSHYX?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

5th Apr 2021

Mod mic Bluetooth: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KQF165L/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glc_fabc_BP4Q6P69F6JV8VBP2DRX

Don’t want it on the headset? Take it off. Need to chat? It magnets back on.

Same with the wired version.

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2020

He mean’s This, which is way overpriced right now

1 point

·

12th Nov 2020

https://www.amazon.ca/Antlion-Audio-Attachable-Microphone-Headphones/dp/B07KQF165L its $200 though lmao theres others similar to this but also in the same price range

1 point

·

3rd Sep 2020

> and microphone for my PC.

Microphone over BT heavily degrades quality since you will be forced to downgrade to SBC.

All wireless gaming headphones (e.g., Sennheiser GSP series) that advertise proper mic support come with a proprietary USB wireless adapter based on 2.4GHz and not standard BT.

ModMic Wireless is the only independent wireless mic solution I know of, if you don’t like these proprietary wireless gaming headsets.

Honestly though, just get a regular USB desktop mic. If you’re leaving your desk during gaming or meetings, are you really gonna be using your mic?

> ANC

Why do you need ANC for the purposes you mentioned above (music/gaming/teleconferencing)?

You generally want the least amount of processing when listening to music or gaming. And if you are in a loud environment that requires ANC, the other party in your call/meeting will not be happy. ANC is only useful outdoors or on planes.

> Unfortunately, support for Bluetooth codes on Windows 10 sucks, as no advanced codec is supported (aptX family nor AAC nor LDAC).

Windows 10 supports aptX when used with a USB BT dongle that supports it (e.g., this one w/ a Qualcomm/CSR chip). I use it for music and gaming and it works perfectly fine with my BTR3 Bluetooth DAC which acts as the BT receiver. The multicolor LED on my BTR3 changes color to indicate aptX codec usage.

You can also use USB Audio based BT transmitters such as Avantree DG60 which does not use Windows 10’s BT stack/drivers and just works like a regular USB Audio device. DG60 even has aptX HD support (which isn’t there on Windows 10 natively).

> Sony WH-1000XM4

You’ll be stuck with SBC on Windows. It is not possible to use LDAC on Windows at all. Only Linux/Android and licensed DAPs are supported for LDAC. No AAC on Windows either.

The older XM3 will do aptX on Windows, however.

> I have found that there are products like Fiio BTR 5 (https://www.fiio.com/btr5) or Shangling UP4 (http://en.shanling.com/product/257), which seem to be solution.

As others have pointed out.. these will receive BT audio and output to wired headphones. They’re not gonna work without a BT transmitter. But these are the best in terms of audio quality.

Avantree DG60 + BTR3K/BTR5 + any headphone of your choice + USB desktop mic would be my ideal audio setup for wireless. TWS isn’t ready..

> Has someone experience with such setup?

I have been using BT audio w/ the cheapo dongle and FiiO BTR1/BTR3 on my PC for 2 years now, for gaming and music. Works totally fine apart from the mic which is not wireless.

My current setup is FiiO FH3 IEM + BTR3. It’s not exactly wireless, but at least I’m not completely tethered to my desk, which is good enough for me.

1 point

·

31st Jul 2020

A wireless version of the Pro X just release but unfortunately the microphone quality is pretty bad. Finding a good wireless headset with a good microphone is pretty rare to be honest.

I would suggest going with something like the Modmic wireless. Unfortunately it’s very expensive at $120 but it’s pretty much one of if not the best wireless microphones for headsets out there.

Here’s a review of it.

1 point

·

27th Jul 2020

Si tu as déjà un bon casque sans fil (sans micro) tu peux aussi y ajouter un ModMic sans fil, ou filaire en fonction de ton usage

1 point

·

24th Dec 2019

That dongle would probably do the trick and cheap enough to just try it out.

If you want something a bit more all in one and painless, with better sound, the Schitt Hel is a nice product.

https://www.schiit.com/products/hel

Mayflower ARC ain’t bad either. Though since the release of the Hel, I think the ARC is priced high.

https://mayflowerelectronics.com/arc/

You could go with other DAC/amps without microphone inputs and switch your mic for a wireless Modmic.

Wireless Modmic

I started my road with pretty much the same situation you’re in now. Cheap dongles always gave me problems so I went for better devices, better headphones, better devices, ad infinitum. Good luck ��

1 point

·

5th Sep 2019
1 point

·

15th Aug 2019

This is mic I and many other use and it’s fantastic. Glad you liked the video �� AntLion Audio ModMic Wireless https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07KQF165L/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_xapvDb1Z3TVH8

-1 points

·

30th Nov 2019

sure but you can slap a wireless modmic onto it. itll sound better than ANY alternative