What is the opinion of Reddit about the
AKG Pro Audio K712 PRO Over-Ear, Open-Back, Flat-Wire, Reference Studio Headphones?

A total of 28 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

6th Oct 2021

I’ve been looking to replace my m50x with something better, and just today the cup broke so they don’t sit correctly on my head.

I mostly want to use them for gaming (pc), I am currently looking at the K712 PRO (I put a link below to the Australian amazon page). I think I want something open-backed (no iso needed), and I don’t care if a mic is included or not. I just want the best audio experience. I also don’t mind spending a bit of money if needed ($1000 maybe).

Looking for recommendations for headphones and dac/amp if needed for a good experience.

https://www.amazon.com.au/Audio-Over-Ear-Reference-Studio-Headphones/dp/B00DCXWXEI

1 point

·

15th Aug 2021

post I made on HeadphoneAdvice

Wanted to ask it here too

And I have the AKG pro Audio k712 headphones. (This one AKG Pro Audio K712
PRO Over-Ear, Open-Back, Flat-Wire, Reference Studio Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DCXWXEI/ref=cm\_sw\_r\_cp\_api\_glt\_fabc\_641VC5HBYZYZSEVVBTAF?\_encoding=UTF8&psc=1 )

Now, I am pretty sure I need a DAC or Amplifier as the GoXLR does not put
out enough power to actually give me what I paid for here. I was hoping
that you guys could point me in the direction of an AMP/DAC that would
be capable of doing 7.1 surround sound. From the headphones it is a
miniXLR to 3.5mm headphone jack, I don’t mind doing miniXLR to XLR, or
whatever is needed from there. But to get the sound out of the GoXLR it
requires the out to have a 3.5mm jack. Which I could do mini or full
just need to buy a cable. I wanted to give you guys the full outlook
here of what I was working with and how to proceed. The headphones seem
pretty decent quality to me, though I know they aren’t Sennheiser $2000
ones. But still trying to get the beat I can out of these. Thanks so
much for your time! And if this isn’t the right place to post/ask can
you please point me in the right direction?

Also are my headphones decent? Or should I be looking to upgrade those too?

1 point

·

5th Jul 2021

Thanks! The form is not an issue, so Atom stack will suit me well. With 6xx it brings me down to under $500 including delivery, but not the duty.

AKG would be pricier, $512 at Amazon.Ca (https://www.amazon.ca/AKG-Pro-Audio-K712PRO-Headphones/dp/B00DCXWXEI/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&gclid=CjwKCAjwuIWHBhBDEiwACXQYsUyANOrPpJ2JoRLV8CaUdrN9DlN_sIWt5yT2bIHuiBvkR8K7bN-7ShoCxc0QAvD_BwE&hvadid=231029564119&hvdev=c&hvlocphy=9060769…)

1 point

·

15th May 2021

I have an ifi Zen DAC connected to my PC and some DT-770s, but I’d like some open-backs for music and podcast listening when I’m working alone from home. I’m liking the look of the K712s but I’m conscious there may be better options for the money?

1 point

·

26th Jun 2020

The K712 Pro (Amazon) are more neutral than the K7xx. Both are equally good for gaming, but the K7xx are definitely more on the dark sounding side, and can be a bit muddy, with stuff like strings, compared to the K712 Pro. The K612 Pro, K701, and K702, OTOH, are to varying degrees brighter sounding (a little peak around the upper-mids/lower-treble, which while fine with very well recorded stuff, can be a bit too harsh sometimes).

Also, my K712 Pros have, aside from the pads and hairband thingies, which are wear parts on AKGs, that you can order replacements for, physically held up much better than my K7xx have. My K7xx have developed some loose joints, and creak a bit more than usual, plus broke a couple little tabs (I’d have to go look to tell you where), despite both appearing to use the same molds.

And….both of them are comfy, so comfy.

1 point

·

22nd Mar 2019

I wasn’t intending to blow this load of cash all at once, but I had some good deals on computer parts so my budget got allocated with the spare funds. These caught my attentions as well, but maybe not the special edition if they have just regular black.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DCXWXEI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_mHgLCb56XG91T

1 point

·

1st Aug 2017

Ah right.

You mentioned the AKG 612, and the 712 set seem affordable. Would you say this is a legitimate option going forward?

/u/ext23 mentioned the Philips Fidelio X2, which seem to come highly recommended, which gives another avenue.

Thanks

1 point

·

19th Mar 2017

The K712 is cheap as hell for some reason, if you’re willing to go a little more. Would be a steal at that price point, although maybe not enough bass for you:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/AKG-K712PRO-Reference-Studio-Headphone/dp/B00DCXWXEI/

Otherwise, Fidelio X2 is bassy (maybe too bassy for you?)…Maybe something along the lines of a DT770/DT990 would be more up your alley.

1 point

·

28th Mar 2015

Upgrade from Astro A50’s and Audio Technica ATH M50xBL’s. Mod Mic and Schiit Stack 2 come monday!

These things fucking kick ass, games and music both sound amazing.

Amazon link

4 points

·

29th Jun 2021
3 points

·

18th Dec 2018
2 points

·

27th Apr 2021

The first headphones that came to mind is the AKG K712 Pro. It literally checks every box among your requirements. It is the absolute king of soundstage and imaging, with accurate (but never overdone) bass. Read some of the thousands of reviews on Amazon for more inspiration:
https://www.amazon.com/AKG-Pro-Audio-Reference-Headphones/dp/B00DCXWXEI

Alternatively you could stick with Hifiman and opt for the Sundara. Out of the box it is on the bright side, but you can EQ it to match your idea of perfection. Check out oratory1990 here on Reddit and Audio Science Review for ideas:
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/hifiman-sundara-review-headphone.22529/

Good luck and please keep us posted.

PS – Thanks for the detailed post. Makes it easy and enjoyable to try and help.

2 points

·

4th Oct 2016

Bei Amazon bestellen, testen und bei nicht-gefallen zurückschicken?

1 point

·

19th Sep 2021

AKG K712 Pro has a very wide sound stage with very good imaging. You’ll be impressed.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/AKG-Open-Back-Over-Ear-Reference-Headphones/dp/B00DCXWXEI/

A Fiio K5 Pro would easily drive it louder than you could listen.

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2020

Well a lot of that is going to depend on whether you prefer the closed back design of your current headphones or were interested in trying an open back pair.

For open back, there are a lot of options available. I’m currently using the AKG K712 and I love them. They are pretty power hungry though, so keep that in mind. Super comfortable though, light weight with memory foam and velour pads. Considered fairly balanced in sound. Probably could be considered a straight upgrade to what you have currently.

Another pair I’ve owned are the Beyerdynamic DT880 (Pro is listed here; I own the premium, mostly the difference is in fit). These are semi-open, so they have a wider soundstage than what you have currently, but not as much as the fully open K712 above. These are also fantastic headphones, but they are very different than what you have now. They are very treble-heavy in balance, which makes them very bright sounding, but also makes the bass less noticeable. When I said that people amp to complement their headphones, this is a good example of a model that benefits from that. Personally, I think these sound best with a warm sounding tube amp. When these were my primary, I used a Little Dot mk III with some Russian vacuum tubes.

The other open headphones I own are more expensive, so I’d just refer to you to the guide I linked above for more options in that price range. And as I said in another post, I don’t have enough experience with closed back headphones to give reliable advice, so the same applies there.

1 point

·

15th Dec 2020

I’m no expert (far from it I’ve literally just stumbled across this sub a few minutes ago), but maybe try a floating headband like on some AKG headphones?

1 point

·

16th Jul 2020

I lurk on here a lot so heres some ive never tried but ive seen people give praise. I still would do a little research on them before you just outright buy them.

https://www.amazon.com/AKG-Pro-Audio-Reference-Headphones/dp/B00DCXWXEI

https://www.ebay.com/c/857979510?iid=124058559763

https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-1990-Pro-Black-Dt1990/dp/B01KM9EJ7I

1 point

·

30th May 2018

K712 €208: https://www.amazon.de/dp/B00DCXWXEI/ (more expensive than .co.uk though)

1 point

·

29th Apr 2018

AKG K712, but you will need a half way decent amplifier too.

1 point

·

31st Jul 2017

Right, I’ve had some time to go over it all, and I apologise if this is wrong.

If I buy the following:

Headset: AKG K712PRO – seemed like the best universal reviews (in a reasonable price bracket!), but if you have opinions I’d be very grateful to hear them

Mic – Antlion

Amp – Astro Gaming MixAmp Pro TR Kit

As well as a headphone splitter.

It is above my budget, but if it is worth it I can wait a bit longer.

1 point

·

6th Feb 2016

K712 are around 400usd

K7xx are 200usd new from massdrop

1 point

·

7th Jan 2016

GER

even the HD700 is below $450 here…
maybe you can find used pairs easier in Canada. Probably many audio enthusiasts are currently selling old stuff after they got new stuff during Christmas.