What is the opinion of Reddit about the
AKG Pro Audio K553 MKII Over-Ear, Closed-Back, Foldable Studio Headphones,Black?

A total of 13 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

27th Dec 2021

I have a large head also. Just got my Maxes. Still wondering if I’ll be able to take the fit. They just barely make it over my ears…
I have AKG Pro Audio K553 MKII
https://www.amazon.com/AKG-3280H00100-K553-MKII/dp/B00X3MT7F6/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=AKG&qid=1640618296&refinements=p_n_feature_five_browse-bin%3A17751346011&rnid=17751344011&s=aht&sr=1-1
The AKGs fit with room to spare.

The Maxes are a very different experience. I’ll try to report back if I get used to this tight fit.
Its a pity they didn’t make them just a little bit bi9gger.

1 point

·

28th Nov 2016

> AKG K553 Pro are perfect for what you described but those are a massdrop exclusive and pop up only every now and then unless you are happy with second hand.

The K553s been on Amazon for quite a while… ~$140 right now.

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2015

especially for classical and jazz I wouldn’t recommend any of the headphones mentioned here. The heavy v-shaped and bassy sound of the models mentioned is simply too powerful to enjoy classical pieces (except the HD25).

From the top of my mind I’d suggest you take a close look at the AKG K553 PRO. they are mostly neutral with a very gentle +3dB bass boost, fairly portable and are efficient enough to be driven by a good smartphone or computer. Staging and imaging are excellent on AKGs which makes them an excellent choice for music that hasn’t been made by a computer ;D

1 point

·

4th Aug 2015

Just so you guys know, these same headphones have conveniently gone on sale on amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/AKG-K553-Closed-Back-Studio-Headphones/dp/B00X3MT7F6/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1438692498&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=k553

EDIT: I dunno about this, now that I look at it. Delivery date in September? Why hasn’t anyone reviewed them?

3 points

·

5th Aug 2015

It’s back! I suppose to directly compete with Amazon’s sale and Massdrop is of course undercutting amazon with 500 in stock at their warehouse ready to ship as soon as drop ends.

http://www.amazon.com/AKG-K553-Closed-Back-Studio-Headphones/dp/B00X3MT7F6/

Closed back headphones if that’s your preference and which makes them a little more friendly when you’re on the go out in public and your music isn’t spilling out onto the world.

Reviews:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/760386/new-release-the-akg-k553-pro-featuring-a-killer-massdrop-deal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlzZsnlzg0k

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAPDTtdh0kA

2 points

·

19th Sep 2021

If the price is manageable for you, the Focal Elegia is an excellent option at a clearance price.

On the budget end, there’s also a pair of used-like new AKG K553 mk.II available for $115US.

Or a pair of refurbished Sony MDR1Am2 for $130US.

1 point

·

28th Nov 2017

Budget – <$220

Source – Desktop PC

Requirements for Isolation – None

Preferred Type of Headphone – Over-Ear

Preferred tonal balance – Not sure

Past headphones -Sony Mdr-xb950/b Extra Bass Headphone. Nice and comfortable, good bass.

Preferred Music – I watch a lot of movies and play a lot of video games. I listen to EDM/Rock/Big Band/Orchestral/pretty much all types. I cant pick a genre that I listen to the most

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – Not sure

I want a good pair of headphones where I can close my eyes and listen to nice orchestral pieces or big band pieces and be taken away, hearing all the individual instruments. But I also want it to have some kick when I listen to edm and play video games. I’ve done some research for my price range and i’ve looked at these two pairs of phones: AKG k 550 and HIFIMAN HE-400I

I’m having trouble because I feel like both of these headphones excel in different areas but I don’t know which one i’d prefer.

Here are some examples of music: Haywyre, Dave Brubek, Orchestral, ODESZA

1 point

·

29th Nov 2017

Budget – <$220

Source – Desktop PC

Requirements for Isolation – None

Preferred Type of Headphone – Over-Ear

Preferred tonal balance – Not sure

Past headphones -Sony Mdr-xb950/b Extra Bass Headphone. Nice and comfortable, good bass.

Preferred Music – I watch a lot of movies and play a lot of video games. I listen to EDM/Rock/Big Band/Orchestral/pretty much all types. I cant pick a genre that I listen to the most

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – Not sure

I want a good pair of headphones where I can close my eyes and listen to nice orchestral pieces or big band pieces and be taken away, hearing all the individual instruments. But I also want it to have some kick when I listen to edm and play video games. I’ve done some research for my price range and i’ve looked at these two pairs of phones: AKG k 550 and HIFIMAN HE-400I

I’m having trouble because I feel like both of these headphones excel in different areas but I don’t know which one i’d prefer.

Here are some examples of music: Haywyre, Dave Brubek, Orchestral, ODESZA

1 point

·

21st Mar 2017

I’ve got two recommendations, that are coincidentally from the same company, AKG.

The first set is the AKG K553 Pro available at Amazon. These have a closed back, super large and comfortable ear pieces, and a very long cable. I can wear these all day without an issue. This is the set I typically use for podcast recording purposes. The cable is non-replaceable though.

The second set is the AKG K240, also available at Amazon. These have a semi-open back and are very comfortable. While the ear pieces are not as large as the K553 Pro, they are plenty large enough for me. These do have a replaceable cable. The cable that came with them was also very long. This is my “daily driver” set for use during working hours.

Both are over the ear designs, which I find to be the most comfortable setup for long use.

1 point

·

28th Mar 2017

Budget – 150€ – 200€ ( = $162 – $217 😉 )
Source – Lenovo Yoga X1 2017 (Notebook, but i have always acsess to socket)
Requirements for Isolation – High, I want to use them in university (I want to use them in the office, where also work a few outher people).
Preferred Type of Headphone – Prefered type is over-ear/full-sized headphones
Preferred tonal balance – I’m a total basshead
Past headphones – I just tested the Sennheiser HD 231 and direktly returned them, because they are not closed and you can’t change the cable.
Preferred Music – Metalcore, Industrial (some examples:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mujf5kKSBMw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=59MJOGkvwX8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NxIuuXkAYFQ)
location – germany
remark – At the moment I’m thinking about to test either:
the AKG K 553 Pro (recomended from the /r/headphones’ Purchase Assistants) https://www.amazon.com/AKG-3280H00100-K-553-Pro/dp/B00X3MT7F6,
the Sennheiser RS 175 Kopfhörer https://www.amazon.de/dp/B00SBC130U?ref=emc_b_5_t
or the Audio-Technica ATH-M50 X https://www.thomann.de/de/audio_technica_ath_m50_x.htm.

0 points

·

5th Aug 2015

Quick heads up that the AKG 553s are on sale right now on Massdrop for 119.99 with free shipping (https://www.massdrop.com/buy/akg-k553-pro-studio-headphone?referer=HMFXP5&amp;mode=guest_open), and there is also a seller on Amazon selling them for 124 and free shipping (http://www.amazon.com/AKG-K553-Closed-Back-Studio-Headphones/dp/B00X3MT7F6/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1438782333&amp;sr=1-1&amp;keywords=AKG+k553).