What is the opinion of Reddit about the
AKG K 701 Ultra Reference Class Stereo Headphone Level 1?

A total of 19 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

16th Jun 2016

> Basically, are these the K702 65th Annie?

no..the annie and the K7XX are tuned differently and have more bass.

But they did indeed change the pads and headband to the same style as the K712 and Annie.

But be careful! AKG managed to confuse the shit out of online retailers and sometimes they use pictures of the new version while actually selling the old one…or like Amazon Germany, using pictures of both generations at the same time.

1 point

·

23rd Sep 2011

Yeah, that wasn’t so great of an argument either. Something I can quickly point out is that you compared two headphones with drastically different features and prices. This would be a more fair comparison, but that’s still ignoring the noise-cancellation factor.

Furthermore, it’s pretty obvious Beats are expensive because they’re by Monster, it has Dr. Dre’s name on it, and they’re a fashion accessory for teens.

2 points

·

28th Oct 2016

Your post contains a amazon referral link and was removed by automoderator. If you use the following link instead I can approve the comment.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000EBBJ6Y/

You should also check out the /r/headphones purchase assistant.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2021

I should say starting from. Most were in that $400 range but I happened to see two different listings one on Amazon and one on Audiosavings which I’ve never used (can do payment plans)

Amazon listing

Audiosavings listing

1 point

·

22nd Apr 2021

When I am having those days, I use open back reference monitors.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000EBBJ6Y/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

30th Jan 2018

After analyzing enough songs, I’d say the commercial standard on rap/trap/modern pop would be something between 8 and 10 RMS. If you want to go deeper into the loudness war, the electronic bangers are usually on 6 RMS normally. Did you use a limiter in your mixing chain?

Man, with all my respect, those headphones are not good enough to make judgments about mixing. I have these headphones, which are pretty standard as well in the industry and you should buy a sound car too.

https://www.amazon.es/AKG-K-701-Auriculares-diadema-abiertos/dp/B000EBBJ6Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1517339528&sr=8-1&keywords=K701

https://www.amazon.es/Sony-MDR-7506-Auriculares-cerrados-reducci%C3%B3n/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1517339565&sr=8-1&keywords=Sony+MDR-7506

My favorite are the sony ones. They flatter and better to mix, IMO. If you check videos on yt, you are going to realize that they are in many videos, like making of.

PD: Soundcloud’s compression sucks.

1 point

·

11th May 2017

I have been doing research for days now. I just went through Mad Lust Envy’s List and his highest rating for competitive is AKG K701 How do these compare to the 363D headphones I have to return due to defective microphone?

The idea here is best competitive gaming positional queues and awareness. Please make sure to check my computer to make sure whatever you suggest doesn’t require an external sound card or amp/dac thing and if it does please try to reach the same ballpark price with all required items included. I really appreciate everyone’s help, been going crazy not being able to find a concrete answer to this question. Legit googled everything I possibly could and read everything I could on /r audiophiles/headphones. Consensus is don’t buy into “gaming” headsets. Purchase a pair of headphones + modmic but the 363D’s seemed great and it’s about the only headphone I read about on those forums that people weren’t angry about. Just want to spend my money wisely that is all. I spend my life gaming lol.

> * Budget – Up to $250 in total. Will need a microphone, idc if that’s a headphone+modmic or whatever is best for the price. (wiggle room if seriously worth it). I currently just bought Sennheiser PC 363D headphones off ebay for about $180 and liked them but need to return them because the microphone is defective; want to know if there is something better (maybe headphone/dac/modmic?) I should get before I purchase another pair. Here is a link to my computer I use if that matters for whether or not I need external sound/amp. ASUS G751JT 17-Inch Gaming Laptop 2014 model
* Source – PC gaming imaging/positioning/directional queues. I just want to be able to hear exactly where the enemy is by sound and also pick up that sound earlier.
* Requirements for Isolation – Is this open vs closed? None. Open I hear is better for positional queues.
* Will you be using these Headphones in Public? No.
* Preferred Type of Headphone – Unknown
* Preferred tonal balance – Not sure. Just want competitive gaming advantage with clear clear precise audio queues for things like footsteps. The game I’m playing is PlayerUnknown’s BattleGround.
* Preferred Music – Not important.
* What would you like to improve on from your set-up – I want ultimate sound clarity. I was playing a duo game with my buddy and I was hiding in a house and he heard a guy walking outside WAY before I ever heard him. He said he’s using like a soundblaster card with scout mode. I just want to be able to hear like him. The Sennheiser 363D was a massive improvement for directional queues in compared to my HyperX Cloud 2’s I had before. Just want to make sure before I return and purchase new 363d’s there nothing better I could do in that price range.

1 point

·

12th May 2017

I have been doing research for days now. I just went through Mad Lust Envy’s List and his highest rating for competitive is AKG K701 How do these compare to the 363D headphones I have to return due to defective microphone?

The idea here is best competitive gaming positional queues and awareness. Please make sure to check my computer to make sure whatever you suggest doesn’t require an external sound card or amp/dac thing and if it does please try to reach the same ballpark price with all required items included. I really appreciate everyone’s help, been going crazy not being able to find a concrete answer to this question. Legit googled everything I possibly could and read everything I could on /r audiophiles/headphones. Consensus is don’t buy into “gaming” headsets. Purchase a pair of headphones + modmic but the 363D’s seemed great and it’s about the only headphone I read about on those forums that people weren’t angry about. Just want to spend my money wisely that is all. I spend my life gaming lol.

> * Budget – Up to $250 in total. Will need a microphone, idc if that’s a headphone+modmic or whatever is best for the price. (wiggle room if seriously worth it). I currently just bought Sennheiser PC 363D headphones off ebay for about $180 and liked them but need to return them because the microphone is defective; want to know if there is something better (maybe headphone/dac/modmic?) I should get before I purchase another pair. Here is a link to my computer I use if that matters for whether or not I need external sound/amp. ASUS G751JT 17-Inch Gaming Laptop 2014 model
* Source – PC gaming imaging/positioning/directional queues. I just want to be able to hear exactly where the enemy is by sound and also pick up that sound earlier.
* Requirements for Isolation – Is this open vs closed? None. Open I hear is better for positional queues.
* Will you be using these Headphones in Public? No.
* Preferred Type of Headphone – Unknown
* Preferred tonal balance – Not sure. Just want competitive gaming advantage with clear clear precise audio queues for things like footsteps. The game I’m playing is PlayerUnknown’s BattleGround.
* Preferred Music – Not important.
* What would you like to improve on from your set-up – I want ultimate sound clarity. I was playing a duo game with my buddy and I was hiding in a house and he heard a guy walking outside WAY before I ever heard him. He said he’s using like a soundblaster card with scout mode. I just want to be able to hear like him. The Sennheiser 363D was a massive improvement for directional queues in compared to my HyperX Cloud 2’s I had before. Just want to make sure before I return and purchase new 363d’s there nothing better I could do in that price range.

1 point

·

24th Mar 2017

Budget: Looking for the 150-300 range.

Source: Battlestation. No need to take these out in public.

Isolation: Not a majorly needed feature. I would prefer some-to-max sound isolation, but quality comes first.

Public Use: Never. Besides the fact that I don’t have the need, I wouldn’t feel safe taking 300 dollar headphones in public anyway.

Type of Headphone: Looking mostly for enclosed headphones. On-ears have never felt right to me so those are MOSTLY out of the question, unless the quality to price ratio makes the trade-off very well worth it.

Tonal Balance: Going off my current knowledge, which is just the Mad Lust Envy gaming headphone guide, it feels like mids and highs are better, with bass being a secondary in the competitive field. I normally play competitive games like Rainbow Six or Overwatch, BUT I still have a repertoire of single-player games that I don’t want to gimp with shit bass (Witcher, Deus Ex, Mass Effect, Doom, etc.).

Past Headphones: The only headphones I’ve used thus is an Astro A40 headset, with the amp, on PC. The microphone was kinda shit and I never felt like they excelled in being headphones. Maybe it was just the length I used them where I became numb to how good they possibly were, but I want an upgrade from those cans.

Preferred Music: I listen to a variety of music including pop, rap, electronica, and house, among others. Nothing that would require an extreme headphone setup for maximum listening pleasure.

Improvement Goals: I purchased a Yeti Blue microphone I’m in love with, so I’m looking to drop the headset for headphones, in hopes of higher quality. I want something that helps me in the games I play competitively primarily, while being strong choices for the more personal experiences.

Notes: I read through the Mad Lust Envy gaming headphone guide. Two that really stuck out to me were the AKG K701 Headphones and the K612 PRO headphones. I was hoping some people who have owned either of those pairs or have experience with similar pairs could chime in with some insight, reviews, or recommendations. Thanks a ton!

1 point

·

24th Mar 2017

Hello!

These headphones are for gaming. I previously used the Astro A40 headset to play. However, they have recently broken and I’m looking for something new. As a current owner of a Yeti Blue microphone, I don’t need a headset, and simply want a high quality set of headphones.

I’m looking for something that has some sort of surround-sound, if that’s the right terminology (the ability to hear sound from multiple directions. Useful for games like Rainbow Six Siege). I’m fairly in the dark in the realm of headphones, but I’ve heard good things about the Sennheiser brand.

Current budget is around 200 dollars, but I’m willing to go a bit above that if it’s needed for quality. Thanks so much!

EDIT: After looking at the gaming headphone FAQ, I found the AKG K701 and the K612 Pro, which both seem to be great for games where sound location is important without sacrificing too much of the punch you want for single-player excursions. Could I get some reviews/recommendations regarding these two sets from users here? Thanks again!

1 point

·

30th Oct 2016

I’d prefer discreet weeb headphones.

(For real though, I didn’t even know those were a thing.)

1 point

·

18th May 2016

Hey there, I posted yesterday too and need some more advice in deciding for a headphone+mic combo

Budget: $300, flexible

Source: My PC, so I guess standart audio output/USB

Requirements for Isolation: I’m currently using Sennheiser PC 360, which are completely open. I love this design because I don’t like being cut-off from the world when I’m sitting at my desk

I will not use them in public, maybe a lan-party or two a year but thats it

Type of Headphone: I have very sensitive ears, so nothing that touches my ears.

Tonal balance: Balanced

Past headphones: Sennheiser PC 360. I’ve had those for over 5 years now and I love them. I can wear them for long gaming sessions and the microphone is usually pretty good. I use my headphones 90% of the time for gaming

Preferred Music: I listen to everything, EDM and classical music is what I hear most of the time

What am I looking for?: I’d love to hear where exactly enemies are, crystal clear sound and comfort even when wearing it for 5 hours+

I want a headset that I can have on my head for extended periods of time without any loss of comfort.

I looked into the Sennheiser HD 598 and into the Phillips Fidelio X2/27

Friend of mine also recommended me this one: http://www.amazon.com/AKG-701-Studio-Reference-Headphones/dp/B000EBBJ6Y

Same friend also recommended this Amp DAC
http://www.amazon.de/FiiO-E10k-Olympus-Kopfh%C3%B6rer-Verst%C3%A4rker/dp/B00LP3AMC2/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1463518630&sr=8-2&keywords=kopfh%C3%B6rerverst%C3%A4rker

Top Priority for me is comfort and sound quality.

Thanks in advance!

1 point

·

21st Mar 2016

Aren’t they the ones you can mod into the 598s by removing the foam pieces inside?

Edit: Yep, they are. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-kJ7sN16qw

Also taking this opportunity to plug the AKG K701s

http://www.amazon.com/AKG-701-Studio-Reference-Headphones/dp/B000EBBJ6Y

Stylish as fuck and they’re great quality and open back, which is essential for gaming.

1 point

·

19th Jul 2015

Don’t buy a headset labeled as a “gaming” headset.
Personally I use an AKG K 701 headset.
http://www.amazon.com/AKG-701-Studio-Reference-Headphones/dp/B000EBBJ6Y

1 point

·

14th Feb 2015

My rationale for the chosen products, part 2:


Peripherals are all very hard to suggest, if we don’t have enough information. So I picked the ones that I find will work in most cases.
But there are a lot of things we need to know before we can suggest the right setup. If you got the time to answer the questions, I will have a better idea if my suggestion will work for you.

  • Mouse: How do you grip the mouse? How many buttons do you want? Are you right or left handed? How big is your hand?
  • Keyboard: I recommend to go read about Mechanical Keyboards switch types first. Then after you know wich switch would be for you, you can give me that information. Then my other questions would be, do you want a TenKeyLess? If you don’t want a TKL, do you want any “macro keys“? The advantage of TKL is that you will sit in a more natural position when using the mouse, so I prefer to recommend these keyboards.
  • Headphones/Speakers: What music do you listen? Where will you sit when using the headphones, will it be in a loud room? Will you be on your own? Do you need a microphone?

  • Keyboard: For keyboards, a mechanical keyboard is superior compared to a membrame, period. I went for MX browns, because I personally prefer them, great for gaming as well as typing. Wich I tend to do a lot. Here is a great video review. This is a TKL keyboard but still got the numpad included wich is really awesome. It is white backlit as well, so that fits the build very well. There are RGB keyboards out there, but they are expensive and I find it slightly stupid to spend that amount of money just so you can have a christmas tree. If you really want one, I would suggest the Logitech G910 Orion or the Corsair K70.
  • Mouse: Here is a hilarious and very well done video review of this mouse. Can’t add to much to it, it’s simply an amazing mouse. I personally have been using Logitech for a long while and love it. Here is the review of it’s bigger brother the G502 wich I can’t recommend to much as the G402 is just more then good enough.
  • Mousepad: Just simply get a mousepad, it feels so much better when using the mouse. Here is a great small review + super nice trick to get it flat.
  • Headphones: I went pretty far for this one. But had a hard time to really suggest something as this again is personal preference. So I went with something that got a fairly flat soundstage, meaning it doesn’t got an insane amount of bass or treble. It also is a 300 Ohm impendance headphone, wich means you have to use an amplifier to be able to drive them. Wich I personally prefer. Technically, you can get a way less expensive headphone, not get the DAC & Amp and still get a solid experience. But this setup will flat out beat most options for sure. The Sennheiser HD558, AKG K 701 or BeyerDynamics Custom One Pro are all solid options as well. Last question, do you need speakers? The only useage I would say would be for listening to movies or music when you are doing something else that’s not on the PC?
  • DAC & Amp: Here is a great video review. Bottom line; it’s “affordable” and does the job.
  • Microphone: I assume that you want to use some voice communication with the PC. So I had to include a microphone as well. I went completely overkill here as a $40-50 microphone would do the trick as well, but this microphone is a studio one that will give you amazing quality. It also comes with a stand a pop filter wich you will like. Here is a lovely video where you can hear this microphone. The other one that sounds slightly more natural is a $400 microphone. So yeah… Here is a review of a $40 microphone that I refered to earlier.

Hope you like it and If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask.

0 points

·

24th Jul 2015

I’d recommend the AKG k701 headphones. Love the sound on them for music.
http://www.amazon.com/AKG-701-Studio-Reference-Headphones/dp/B000EBBJ6Y