What is the opinion of Reddit about the
AIRCARE MA Whole-House Console-Style Evaporative Humidifier (Console)?

A total of 19 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

26th Mar 2018

Well, I have an enormous console one, because the humidity in my apartment goes to about 33% without a humidifier running. It will happily humidify most of the place to 55% humidity with a fill every 24-36 hours (depending how dry I let it get before I refill it). It holds just shy of 5 gallons, I think, compared to the 1 gallon ultrasonic I used in the bedroom before I got this one, which needed to be filled about every 18 hours for one room. It has a side mounted container for water, so you don’t have to shut it off to go fill it, and it holds about two containers worth (one flows down to the bottom with the wick, then you fill it again), so you don’t have to haul 5 gallons from the sink to the humidifier.

The wicks are about $12-14 on amazon, depending what the price variation of the day is. It’s really easy to install, it’s only really noisy when the humidity is way below where it’s set to (you can set it anywhere from 35 to 60% if I recall correctly, 50% is best of both worlds for protecting you from flu and mold), and honestly, you can set what the fan speed is at if you don’t like auto.

I’ve been running this almost constantly since Christmas (there was a week that we turned it off ’cause I was trying to dry a bunch of sand), and I’ve replaced the wick once. I may not have had to replace it if I had emptied it out for that week, but I stupidly left it sitting in the wet chamber, so it got gross.

TL;DR: I apparently have lengthy opinions on humidifiers.

1 point

·

10th Jan 2022

What is the set point for the humidity? Are you sure it’s where it should be –about 50%? Is the humidifier running constantly? Also… the display on mine can show the setpoint or the current humidity. Read the instructions. Check that you are using it correctly.

I have an evaporative humidifier that works really well in my 1100 sf house. It’s a big circular wick that sits upright with base in the water, and a fan that blows across it. Super simple.

If the house is down to 30% (about as low as it gets around here) it will take 12-24 hours to get it up to 55%, which is my preferred set point. After that, the amount of water needed and how much it runs depends on how much my gas forced air heat runs, along with the outside humidity. Butt it can maintain at 55%, no problem.

This is the one I have. I love it. I’ve had it about a year. Water uses varies from 1 to 2 tanks a day. The side refill on the tank is very handy. I lay it across the kitchen sink divider and counter to fill.

1 point

·

16th Dec 2021

Yeah – get this large one even if you live in a small apartment. It puts out about 6-7 L (1.5 gallons) of water into the air every 24 hours, and is controlled by a humidistat.

1 point

·

12th May 2018

Funny thing, I used that exact one for a while till I got sick of it. Small reservoir needed filling constantly, and white stuff everywhere. I switched to this and I’ve been pretty happy. But I had a larger space and needed to replace two of the ones you linked. You can probably get a cheaper one in the same style.

The comments about the humidity censor through me off, but I didn’t have any of those problems. Either there’s enough of a draft it didn’t matter or they fixed it.

1 point

·

9th Feb 2017

Heres what I use in my grow: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004S34ISA/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

If you’ll never use it again, might not be worth it. Dry winters around here mean I can put it to use outside of the grow room. It will get the job done amazingly well in a small room.

Small, garbage humidifiers (under $50) wont do shit. Get one that can actually make a difference. I had the same problem and returned it for a bigger one. If the area is too big for the humidifier, nothing is going to happen. It will just work forever, not actually doing anything. And the recommended area for those tiny humidifiers is like barely a closet.

1 point

·

27th Dec 2016

I also recommend the whole house humidifier! I got this one a few weeks ago and have been pleased. It does take up floor space and requires some maintenance (cleaning, refilling), but my dogs/door knobs/cages don’t zap me anymore and I don’t wake up with that terrible dry winter air induced stuffy nose and scratchy throat nonsense. I set it up near the air intake for the house and it does a decent job of circulating some humidity around the house. It varies by about 5% by the time it gets to the farthest places in the house from the humidifier, but it sure beats life without it! My house is fairly small, so mileage may vary for larger homes.

1 point

·

21st Feb 2022

Get a good humidifier. I have this one.

1 point

·

17th Jan 2022

I have this one and it works really well. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004S34ISA?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2022

You need to ditch the ultrasonic humidifier and get one that uses an evaporative wick. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004S34ISA/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_3ZTWQ76WC9P3Z1A85F8S?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

30th Dec 2021

This is the best humidifier I have ever had, and have tried a bunch. Hate ultrasonics. This one is basically a swamp cooler and works great. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004S34ISA?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

17th Nov 2021

Standalone console evap humidifiers do not always need a water line and drain, e.g., https://www.amazon.com/AIRCARE-MA1201-Whole-House-Console-Style-Evaporative/dp/B004S34ISA

Whole home humidifiers like Aprilair’s do, though.

1 point

·

11th Sep 2020
1 point

·

22nd Nov 2019

When I lived in a two story 2200 sq ft townhouse I had a whole house humidifier (Honeywell) and changed the filters every 3-4 mos. It worked great! Also had an air cleaner attached to the furnace. That cut way down on dust. Now I’m in a 1200′ loft with a heat pump and whole building broiler for heat. I got this, which is sufficient for a one story place, but would not be enough for you.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004S34ISA/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

7th Nov 2019

You’ll want a whole house console humidifier, more like one like this.

1 point

·

11th Jan 2017

Yeah it’s a necessity living in the desert but it has been raining here non stop so it hasn’t kicked on all week.

I use this:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004S34ISA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

6th Jan 2017

AIRCARE MA1201 Whole-House Console-Style Evaporative Humidifier, White https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004S34ISA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_IN0BybHSHSVJB

Or something like it. Get cool mist. Warm is too hard to maintain.

The one in the link above is ugly, but it’s big enough to really get the humidity you want (30-40%) when it’s really dry.

I had to scrap mine and ended up trying others – now I have to have 2 to replace the work of that one.

This one also rated well, but I don’t have personal experience with it.
Honeywell HCM350W Germ Free Cool Mist Humidifier, White https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002QAYJPO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_NP0Byb48FZVET

Dampits CAN make a tiny difference if you use them properly and with a cover. But, generally, that’s only for a little extra protection. Drop the money on a real humidifier especially with all your other instruments.

Lastly, don’t overhumidify – you’ll get mold.

0 points

·

9th Nov 2017

Sounds pretty cool, but I’d stay away from a 1 gallon humidifier. Wouldn’t even make it through the day if it’s a dry winter.

Why would you need to be raising and lowering the humidity? You should be in certain ranges for a long time, like 60% throughout veg, 50% in early-mid flowering, etc. You shouldn’t need to make minor adjustments throughout the day/week.

If you want to keep an eye on your conditions, buy a used nest cam on amazon and put it in front of your thermometer/hygrometer. You can even buy their 100$/year DVR package to go back at any point in time to review your conditions. View from their app on your phone, or website. Easy peasy.

For the humidifier, go with something like this: https://www.amazon.com/MA1201-Whole-House-Console-Style-Evaporative-Humidifier/dp/B004S34ISA/ref=sr_1_13?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1510248550&sr=1-13&keywords=humidifier