What is the opinion of Reddit about the
50 pcs Pack Kailh Hot-swappable PCB Socket Sip Socket Hot Plug CPG151101S11 for Mechanical Keyboard DIY?

A total of 13 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

13th Nov 2021

For future reference a hotswap board will definitely be marked as such as that’s something they can charge more for. Or if you can disassemble your board and look at the bottom of the pcb, you can look for these

These aren’t the only hotswap sockets, but they are the most used ones.

1 point

·

9th Nov 2021

The Paradise Arcade solution is a little PCB that you insert into each button. Each PCB requires the switch to be soldered in, so if you want to replace switches you have to extract the PCB, desolder the old switch, and solder in the replacement.

Not only that, but you are also required to get a new MX plunger for each button. This adds to cost and limits your color choices. If you want a plunger in a color that that Paradise Arcade does not make then you’re out of luck.

My solution lets you swap out switches in seconds, and you can make them hot-swappable using something like this. It also works with any pre-existing snap-in Sanwa button and plunger, meaning you have access to every color Sanwa makes.

1 point

·

7th Jun 2021

I suppose, theoretically, you could. However, there are already readymade hot swap sockets you can purchase which will do a much better job, and take up a lot less space. Kailh makes my personal favorites

Example: https://www.amazon.com/Hot-swappable-Socket-CPG151101S11-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B07K8CCMQZ/

1 point

·

14th Mar 2021

I’m working on a similar project. But I went with

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07K8CCMQZ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_60B4NMSM4K90BDEN17M6?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

And just put a detent in the plate that it’ll fit into. I still really like your idea. I wonder if you could make clips that insert to the plastic. Like what’s inside breadboards.

3 points

·

20th Jul 2020

My current build is hotswappable using kailh hotswap sockets glued into a 3d printed case, they are quite snug without the glue but it’s definitely needed. link (https://smile.amazon.co.uk/Hot-swappable-Socket-CPG151101S11-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B07K8CCMQZ)

3d printed socket holder: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3117549 these came out well even from my poorly tuned ender 3 pro at 0.28mm layer height

And an example of how they’re installed in my board: https://imgur.com/a/kg568tn

So single key PCB’s aren’t needed to make a hotswappable build but if you want to do per key RGB lighting as well they would be the way to do it.

1 point

·

15th Mar 2022

That one is not hot swappable. Most of the ones that are would say so as well as having Khail style hotswap sockets. Amazon link showing what these look like: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.amazon.com/Hot-swappable-Socket-CPG151101S11-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B07K8CCMQZ&ved=2ahUKEwi35M_4yMj2AhVEGs0KHTfkArcQFnoECAgQAQ&usg=AOvVaw0HBg7R6WLXxH742mWQeB8_ If you have your heart set on buy the above board, you might be able to solder in millmax sockets to make it hot swappable, however, I think you could find a better option for not much more money.

1 point

·

10th Nov 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
50 pcs Pack Kailh Hot-swappable PCB Socket Sip So…$7.00$7.004.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

29th Sep 2021

Here’s the Etsy postingI went with: https://www.etsy.com/listing/1028152282/made-to-order-dactyl-manuform?ref=hp_rv-1

I’ll let you know how the quality of the print turns out, but this seller also has options to add in holders for Kailh hotswap plugs. you would then need to buy the hot swap plugs from somewhere like this: https://www.amazon.com/Hot-swappable-Socket-CPG151101S11-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B07K8CCMQZ

To save some money I’m just fully committing to my switches and hoping I won’t regret it…

1 point

·

25th Aug 2021

Here is a tutorial and here are the hotswap sockets

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2021

Could be a PCB issue. I’ve had this issue in the past and what it boiled down to was a bad PCB. Now, I’m still fairly new to the troubleshooting aspect of this hobby, but check your hot-swap sockets on the back. See if the unresponsive keys have messed up sockets. You can buy replacements online for cheap, like here:

https://www.amazon.com/Hot-swappable-Socket-CPG151101S11-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B07K8CCMQZ/ref=sr_1_3?crid=2SXMJ5MCCEUYP&dchild=1&keywords=hotswap+sockets&qid=1627997281&sprefix=hotsap+sockets%2Caps%2C247&sr=8-3

Hope this helps, and again, still new to troubleshooting keeps, I mainly work with PC repair,

1 point

·

13th Aug 2019

Rather than trashing your spare keyboard, and assuming it’s the socket that’s the problem, you could also do this:

https://www.amazon.com/Hot-swappable-Socket-CPG151101S11-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B07K8CCMQZ

(Note: There may also be cheaper/faster delivering sources than YDMK on Amazon)

If it’s the diode you could probably find it cheaper elsewhere. I’m sure Mouser would have it. You’d probably have to order at least 10, but they’ll probably be pennies.

1 point

·

24th Apr 2020

Huh, who would’ve thought Amazon has packs of sockets in stock.