What is the opinion of Reddit about the
135 Keys PBT Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-Sub White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard?

A total of 128 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

19th Sep 2021

Kuro Shiro seems to be similar to what you want, but i believe the GB just finished so you can’t get those, it has had multiple runs though

assuming you’ve probably already seen these

you could just look for “BoW japanese keycaps” and you’ll probably find what you’re looking for

2 points

·

15th Jul 2021

Good to here. Yeah I think the best bet for Japanese would be to hop online and buy a japanese keycap set and use operating system multi-language support. This is what I used for Colemak before I had a programmable keyboard where I could have a hardware implementation of my keysets.

On Windows, you can add a language and it will let you quickswap with Win + spacebar. It wouldn’t be as fast as a layer switch with a decent programmable keyboard but it would get the job done. The OS would be in qwerty but the keyboard could be set to a Colemak layout. The keycaps could be put on in a Colemak layout as well so you could just look down when needed. Something like that might work.

If you workout a solution make sure to share it here ya?

2 points

·

13th Jul 2021

PBT 135 Keys Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-Sub White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_GEKRAT5TKCWJ5RE7TXXN

Though they might be clones, I recommend them. It’s a nice set for a pretty cheap price.

2 points

·

14th Feb 2021

This is mainly because this is a niche hobby so it’s not profitable or reasonable for a vendor to be able to keep constant stock of every single colorway ever created. BoW is the easiest colorway to find. This might work for you. Unless there’s a specific reason you’re looking for double shot keycaps.

2 points

·

13th Feb 2021

Keycaps!

I haven’t seen any with red font, but I’m sure Kbdfans or KPRepublic might have em.

2 points

·

16th Jan 2021

They’re these budget caps off Amazon! They’re surprisingly solid aside from a few keys that had some excess plastic on the edges from poor cutting I believe, but overall no complaints. Not sure about longevity, but these get the look off for cheap

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_qj1aGb63N36ST

1 point

·

20th Jan 2022

Would this keycap set fit my epomaker ep84?

Keycaps

I have also added holy pandas onto this board and the spacebar stabs don’t fit in quite correctly, as in if you press down hard enough on one side it will pop out of the stabs. Would this be a keycap issue?

Just got my Q2 in as well and it’s awesome SO good out of the box. Spacebar is slightly louder than I would like so I added some light foam. Will probably be doing the PE foam mod as well. I’m tactile gang so hard for me to give you advice on the reds but for budget keycaps, just make sure they’re doubleshot PBT and you should be set. These are a good set I see going around and they’re cheap:

https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=sr\_1\_3?crid=27EH17JWOOYS2&keywords=japanese+pbt+keycaps&qid=1642525787&sprefix=japanese+pbt+keycaps%2Caps%2C66&sr=8-3

1 point

·

5th Jan 2022

135 Keys PBT Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-Sub White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_1CJ6S7XQ1YRABYK0B8SR?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

These are the keycaps set I’m using right now and absolutely love it

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2021

this probably sounds so noob but do these keycaps PBT 135 Keys Cherry Profile DYE-Sub Japanese Keycap Minimalist White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_A247DW80W6DMV9K64VYP?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

fit into the glorious pandas?

1 point

·

18th Oct 2021

That is not something I have ever seen before. You’re right, I think it has to do something with the thickness but I think its also the quality. The new keycaps are higher quality and I think they will do perfectly.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_XDQB0VZE2FTZ4ZQN8Z75?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

These are my keycaps and they do not seem to have those issues. They’re a similar design to yours and I definitely recommend it.

1 point

·

23rd Sep 2021

Im building my gk64 with purple pandas(long stem) and want these hella clean cherry keycaps, but idk if there’ll be interference, so i think ill play it safe with oems

1 point

·

26th Aug 2021

similar to these?

these are Kuro Shiro clones which just had an R3 recently

1 point

·

19th Aug 2021

I would recommend going for an actual JIS board, I’ve since found out this is called US International, It misses a lot of the normal layout of a JIS board, this really is just a weird mix of ISO and ANSI and means practically nothing, But to be fair you can type any language on any keyboard tbh, just a matter of knowing the shortcuts if there are any.

​

here is a keycap set with Japanese sub-legends, you find these in different colours and themes.

1 point

·

29th Jul 2021

I really like the font on these key caps, but I don’t speak Japanese so I don’t want the Japanese lettering. Are there any keys I can get that are the same material, feeling, and font, without the Japanese? Thanks.

1 point

·

2nd Jul 2021

the fading also happened to me but with some keycaps i got off amazon

1 point

·

24th Jun 2021

i mean there are a lot on aliexpress. here’s an ali brand on amazon, but its cherry profile

1 point

·

19th May 2021

PBT 135 Keys Cherry Profile DYE-Sub Japanese Keycap Minimalist White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_YXDFFQ88D2GZ7JJVZ3ZV?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

I personally have these keycaps and I think that they’re pretty good in terms quality and looks but it’s up to you if you like them

15 points

·

13th Jan 2021

PBT 135 Keys Cherry Profile DYE-Sub Japanese Keycap Minimalist White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_oV2.Fb7YYRBEG?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

8 points

·

6th May 2021

Got it here;

PBT 135 Keys Cherry Profile DYE-Sub Japanese Keycap Minimalist White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_4G19QKWDEWQZ33SFXDWV?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

3 points

·

14th Jun 2021

It’s just some random set I got off of Amazon while I wait for GMK group buys to come in. Here’s the link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7YXQ43/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It’s not a bad set for the money!

3 points

·

29th Jan 2021

Thank you!
I got them from amazon! https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7YXQ43/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 is the link! They are much nicer than I expected for the price and have a ton of different sizes of keys for whatever you might need! They are a little tight on the stems of switches but that’s the only issue I have had with them. Other than that I really like them!

3 points

·

19th Jan 2021

They are PBT caps from Amazon. Super impressed with the quality actually.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7YXQ43/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

3 points

·

21st Dec 2020

Repost of my last question to see if I can get any more answers:

Anyone know of a good budget black on white keycap set in either OEM or Cherry profiles? I’ve seen ones like EPBT Charcoal and Artfact Bloom but they’re sold out at this moment, but looking around that ball park for price ($50-80) and preferably in stock or something that restocks frequently.

Also anyone have experience with this keycap set? I can’t find any info on it outside of the Amazon seller page and there seems to be no reviews on this particular set, so I’m a bit wary of it.

2 points

·

26th Jul 2021

i know little to nothign about japanese language, but are these what you are looking for? https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=sr_1_6?dchild=1&keywords=monochrome+japanese+keycaps&qid=1627275716&sr=8-6 not sure if they are katakana or hirigana

2 points

·

26th Jul 2021

PBT 135 Keys Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-Sub White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.sg/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glc_i_5S16ND7BSTKZVBRF1MBZ

Here u go. 🙂

2 points

·

16th Jul 2021

they feel great and i like they don’t look over the top or plain. here’s the link to the keycaps incase you don’t have it saved already.

2 points

·

14th Jul 2021

newbie here about to take the plunge.

planning on getting: https://kbdfans.com/collections/tofu65/products/dz68rgb-customize-keyboard-diy-kit with gateron blues and these keycaps: https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43

so it’s goinng to include a pcb, case, stabilizers and switches when it’s all said and done.

my question is: how much assembly is required if I buy the kit? I would rather not deal with soldering because I have no experience with that, so from what I’ve gathered hot swap means no soldering. I don’t mind some assembly, so which tools would I need?

please let me know if there are incompatibilities with the keycaps and switches etc.

2 points

·

2nd Jul 2021

thanks! dem keycaps

2 points

·

16th Apr 2021

So, I’m going to be building my first mech, and need to know it there’s anything else I need to buy. I have the switches, the stabs, the PCB, the case, the plate, the keycaps, the lube, and films. Is there anything else I need to buy? Do any of these parts come with screws? Do I even need screws? I just need to know if there is anything at all I still need to get. Also, are these parts compatible with each other?

2 points

·

16th Apr 2021

wrist rest:https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/978590987/black-white-tai-chi-style-wrist-rest-koi?ref=yr_purchases

PBT 135 Keys Cherry Profile DYE-Sub Japanese Keycap Minimalist White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_i_R73Y0X1QS3DGMJFFBXXR?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

It appears to be unavailable on amazon, though you can get the exact keycaps off aliexpress. Or paying the expensive price of real kuro shiros!

2 points

·

31st Mar 2021

Not sure what you mean by roots, but there are quite a few options with Japanese Katakana or Hiragana in different profiles and price points.

Gliging Japanese keycaps
https://smile.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43
Unboxing – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEv98jNHggY&t=182s

NP Japanese Keycaps
https://kbdfans.com/products/np-pbt-keycaps-set

Kuro Shiro (may have to find these on /mechmarket)
https://kbdfans.com/products/kuro-shiro-r2?_pos=1&_sid=2a0b4e2dd&_ss=r

2 points

·

28th Jan 2021

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7YXQ43/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Here’s the US Amazon page for those caps, they’re pretty great for $35. Just snagged a set for a budget build for a buddy.

2 points

·

27th Jan 2021

Judging by the control/code and caps lock it looks to be a epbt kuro/shiro clone from amazon

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_FOzeGbJDKM491?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

13th Mar 2022

as far as I can tell it’s these

1 point

·

3rd Feb 2022

i believe i saw those before somewhere. do you have the original link to the image or video?
i think it was a mixed keycap set with
https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=japanese+keycaps&qid=1643906578&s=electronics&sr=1-3
this and another keycaps

1 point

·

6th Jan 2022

here you go The quality is really fantastic. https://i.imgur.com/8gIYedi.jpg

1 point

·

1st Jan 2022

Japanese actually has three writing systems, they’re called Hiragana, Katakana (which are both syllabaries) and Kanji (which are logographic). Kanji is actually an adaptation of Chinese characters, but pronounced in Japanese. Kanji have multiple pronunciations and meanings. Hiragana and Katakana are phonetic syllabaries, meaning each symbol corresponds to a specific sound (like the Latin letters we use in English).

Tl;dr, Hiragana and Katakana are what you’ll find used as sublegends. Kanji aren’t used as sublegends on any set that I’ve seen.

The set pictured above is probably this one off Amazon. The characters on that one are hiragana.

1 point

·

12th Dec 2021

Unfortunately, $100 will not get you very far in this hobby. I have spent that much on switches, so getting a whole keyboard out of that budget will be tough.

For this, you’re going to have to go outside of Amazon.

Board: https://nuphy.com/collections/shop/products/tes68

This is the cheapest, wireless keyboard you can get your hands on. Hotswap, meaning you can put switches in without soldering and in the 65% category that you described. The two caveats are that it is completely wireless and it does not come in white. You might be able to find it in completely white on AliExpress, under the title (Tester68)

Switches: https://www.primekb.com/products/silent-alpaca-linears?variant=3763320229085

These are silent alpacas, a nice linear switch with a ‘clacky’ feeling.

Keycaps: https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=white+keycaps&qid=1639327467&sr=8-3

Nice, cheap, white keycaps from Amazon.

I believe this will come out to be about $110 with shipping, which IMO is worth it. I would also spend an extra $20 to get some lube and other accessories since your switches and stabilizers will sound much better with lubricant.

Nope like this and this and this and this there are so many keycaps that gliging makes. Most of the sets on amazon are made by gliging. Just search up gliging keycaps.

1 point

·

26th Nov 2021

Got them from Amazon. Here is a link to them if you’d like em new

1 point

·

19th Nov 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
135 Keys PBT Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-…$29.98$29.984.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

9th Nov 2021

Here! https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43 couldn’t find the original seller I bought them from though

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2021

i know this is a literally noob thing to ask but will these keycaps https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_3X9A1YN7FSC830GTQJ3M?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
fit into the glorious pandas?

1 point

·

30th Oct 2021

​

here you go!

keycaps

1 point

·

18th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
135 Keys PBT Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-…$29.98$29.984.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

10th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
135 Keys PBT Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-…$29.98$29.984.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

9th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
135 Keys PBT Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-…$29.98$29.984.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

8th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
135 Keys PBT Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-…$29.98$29.984.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

8th Oct 2021

These are the keycaps, if you google the name you’ll find many results, from where you can buy them, regarding what works better for you region wise.

https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43

1 point

·

24th Sep 2021

how’s these

Are this keycap set and my keyboard compatible if I have Kailh Box Reds? I’m aware the keycap set is for a full board and I’ve linked a 60, but I couldn’t find an identical set for a 60 percent. Most importantly are the shift keycaps specifically compatible? I’ve heard that people buying keycap sets for smaller boards have had shift keycaps that didn’t fit, though the rest of their keys were fine. Thanks in advance.

1 point

·

26th Aug 2021

As a Dad with limited time, this was a fun project to research and finally put together.

Took a lot of inspiration from this sub and shoutout to Taeha Types on YouTube for his super simple walkthrough on the board and lubing switches.

Specs:
– GMMK Pro “White Ice”
– Keycaps, PBT 135 Keys Japanese Keycaps (link below)
– Stabilizers, Durock v1 Transparent Gold Plated
– Switches, Silk Emerald Switches (link below)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

https://novelkeys.xyz/collections/frontpage/products/silk-emerald-switches

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2021

Sorry i deleted my last comment because it wouldn’t let me edit but here

You can get come keycaps that are cheaper and won’t affect the sound as long as they are made of the same material and have the same profile. I found some Here. Also if you want to make the sound deeper, I would get an Sa profile keycap set here is an Example. And I’m not sure if you’re new to keyboards or not but you can get a hotswap pcb for the kbd67 so you can just push the switches in instead of soldering but is your choice.

1 point

·

7th Aug 2021

I got it from a online shop here in the Philippines but here’s a link:

https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43

1 point

·

5th Aug 2021

Keychron K2 v2 (Gateron Red) +Keychron Wrist Rest

Japanese keycaps

https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43

1 point

·

26th Jul 2021

PBT 135 Keys Japanese Keycaps Cherry Profile DYE-Sub White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_DAJM2S9VHEMF43HSRPTX?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2021

Sure! Here you go!

1 point

·

14th Jul 2021

It looks like a combination https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_TGHQ6XVK00CMHE4G2DKQ?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1 and gmk white on black with an artisan keycap

1 point

·

14th Jul 2021

there’s a BoW PBT dye sub keycap set with hiragana texts on amazon for about $35, pretty decent for a budget thick PBT keycap set

1 point

·

28th May 2021

FedEx was as frustrating as ever delivering this one. After a few bad experiences in the past where they failed to deliver it to my apartment building I asked them to hold it at a local pharmacy for pickup, but the request hit some sort of error. The tracking page locked me out from updating any hold requests after that but I also received an email saying they had received the request. Fast forward to yesterday and they deliver it to my front door. On the positive side they got into my apartment building this time, on the negative side they ignored my hold request, so I guess it nets out.

​

About the board:

– KBDfans TOFU65 (Chocolate) pre-assembled

– Gateron Yellow (stock)

– PBT dye-sub cherry profile generic keycaps from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7YXQ43/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

​

Overall I’m pretty satisfied with the board now, but there were some serious issues out of the box. The backspace and enter key stabilizers were not put together properly as the wires were not snapped into the stabilizer holders on each side. This lead to one of the stems detaching from the wire. It took me two hours using some paper clips to get them snapped in, as it was hard to do on an already assembled keyboard. I should note this happened after I put all the keycaps on and then took off the stabilized keys to prep for some small mods I like to do on stabs, so maybe when I pulled off the keycaps it popped the wires out (although I doubt it).

​

I also did a couple of other small post-assembly mods that I like to do on new keyboards:

– Put paper underneath the stems to dampen upstroke sound (like a ghetto holee mode): https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/comments/bzgqde/how_i_fixed_my_rattly_spacebars/

– Put foam in the spacebar to deepen the sound (no foam on hand, so I used a cutout from a thick foam-like washcloth): https://i.imgur.com/1YpfEgC.jpg

​

The keycaps seem pretty high quality and have a good weight to them. The Gateron Yellows aren’t as amazing as I’d thought they’d be based on the hype. I think they might be too light for me, or maybe too smooth (it feels like nothing’s there when I press down). I prefer the Cherry MX Reds on my Varmilo Sakura keyboard even though those are supposed to be lighter than Gat Yellows. I’m not sure if I prefer scratchy switches more or if I just need a stronger spring weight to compensate for smoother switches (maybe I’d like Ink Blacks better). I noticed a similar thing when I bought a couple prebuilts a few years back, one with older MX Browns and one with newer retooled ones, and I preferred the older scratchier ones as the new ones felt too light.

​

As I’ve used the Gat Yellows more over the past couple days I have started liking them more though, so we’ll see if I change my opinion over time.

1 point

·

18th May 2021

I bought mine from Aliexpress, they were cheaper and took about 2 weeks to arrive but they’re also available on Amazon prime here

1 point

·

11th May 2021

definitely choose the womier over the anne pro and try these if you’re into the clean look but they do have japanese sublegends sooo

1 point

·

6th May 2021

alternative on Amazon
Just got these delivered

1 point

·

21st Apr 2021

I just got these keycaps myself, they’re very lovely. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7YXQ43/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Cherry profile and reasonably thoccy, some scuffed undersides but who really cares lol, the legends are crisp and consistent and there are some novelties

1 point

·

19th Apr 2021

I’m a beginner in the hobby and I am going to build my own keyboard.

I’m going for an all white minimal keycaps just wanted to know which is better quality

I’m putting these on the gk64x and I’m aware of the interference of cherry profile keycaps

so could anyone guide me on which keycaps I should get

​

​

option 2 has a 17$ delivery fee added on top

1 point

·

17th Apr 2021

PBT 135 Keys Cherry Profile DYE-Sub Japanese Keycap Minimalist White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_RS39D1G96R9DT66N0JD6
This is a great set

1 point

·

17th Apr 2021

https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43

if you want quality gmk hennessey on drop or their mt3 are on sale rn for $88

1 point

·

8th Apr 2021

Also looks like this

1 point

·

6th Apr 2021

I saw these under someone else’s post a while ago. I don’t really know what they’re called but here’s the amazon link!

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7YXQ43/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

28th Mar 2021

Probably these.

1 point

·

11th Mar 2021

Here ya go!

They’re out of stock right now sadly

1 point

·

16th Feb 2021

I got them off Amazon. See hereAmazon . Google “PBT 135 Keys Cherry Profile DYE-Sub Japanese Keycap Minimalist White Theme Suitable for MX Cherry”. It looks like you can also find them on Ali Express

1 point

·

13th Feb 2021

I’m guessing these are it.

PBT 135 Keys Cherry Profile DYE-Sub Japanese Keycap Minimalist White Theme Minimalist Style Suitable for Mechanical Keyboard https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_EWP3SGPKGZSN95CJ1JJ1

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_Y4F19MHQGMMG5KG4RVM9?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
pretty much the best you can get for cheap in terms of layout support, quality, and shipping time

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2021

Hey, just wanted you to know that if you want them faster, they are also on Amazon here:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7YXQ43?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2021

Note: There are other options out there to satisfy the sub $150-$200 DIY keyboard such as the GK61 kit both in plastic and aluminum or the NK65 Entry, but being in quarantine and on break is pretty boring and I’ve been itching to do another build. The parts list can be used to give you an idea of what you can use and parts can be swapped out to adjust for cost or preference.

Sound test of a recent build that I finished not too long ago. The main intent of this keyboard was just a simple gift for my gf since I gave her my old one (GK64 with optical browns which wasn’t too great to begin with but the main intent was to give her something while all the parts for this build were coming in) and wanted to give her a step up from what she has now. The main thing I wanted out of this build was something that still had build quality in mind, sounds better than what she has now, as well as something that wasn’t too over the top in price. Looking around the subreddit, I see most people asking for what components to go with to fit their $XX0 budget for their first DIY. One of the most common price ranges I saw was around $200 and figured that it would be a good price range to try and stay within. After ordering all the parts, I came to a total of $195.26 including tax and shipping where applicable (Shipping was $18 for KBDfans and $6.38 for Cannon Keys. Amazon shipping was free). The parts breakdown can be found below.

Parts List:

PCB: DZ60 Rev 3 ($38) [KBDfans]

Plate: Alu Plate With 2U Left Shift ($18) [KBDfans]

Case: 60% Plastic Case ($14.90) [KBDfans]

Stabs: GMK Screw In ($14) [KBDfans]

Switches: 70 Mauve Linear Switches ($38.50) with Deskey Films ($7) [Cannon Keys]

Keycaps: Cherry Profile Minimalist Japanese Keycaps ($37.99) [Amazon] (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7YXQ43/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)

I also used Honey to apply a $2 off coupon at KBDfans to save a little bit more despite being under the $200 already, but I’m not complaining lol.

​

Things to consider/I considered:

Switches were lubed with Tribosys 3204 that I had leftover from my previous build.

I already own a soldering iron and it’s probably older than most of the kids playing Fortnite these days.

Since this isn’t my first keyboard build, there were some things that I learned while selecting the parts used for that build, and had an idea of where I could lower the overall cost. For instance, switches can take up a large portion of the budget depending on the switches you decide to go with. For this build, I was juggling a handful of switch possibilities in my mind and settled with Mauve Linears. Why? Because Alpacas were out of stock and Mauves are basically the same thing. I also considered Ink or Milk Blacks but decided to not go that route since availability was a bit hard to find at the time or it brought the overall cost of the build over $200 after taxes and shipping. With the total for the switches coming out to less than $40, this is significantly cheaper than the $70 I had previously spent on 67g Tealios, hence why I found this one of the easiest ways to lower the cost of the overall build. Since there are so many other options available for switches, you can always pick a different switch based on your preference or to lower the cost even further (ie. Gateron Yellows are only $14 for 70 switches, lowering the price even more). You can also choose a different set of films or not use films at all to lower the overall cost.

Since I already own a soldering iron, I wasn’t too worried about finding a hotswap PCB and was okay with this since non-hotswap boards are cheaper and easier to find these days. If you do not own a soldering iron, I highly recommend doing so since this opens you up to a larger market of keyboards and DIY kits that you can assemble or modify. The process in general isn’t as hard as you may think. After watching a few videos, you’ll be able to learn the basics fairly quickly and with the 61+ switches you may have to solder, you’ll definitely get enough practice. If you do not own one or have access to one and are still conscious of your budget, you can always choose a cheaper set of switches, negate the films or lube, or go with a different keycap set and purchase a soldering iron kit and solder off of Amazon(~$20). Though I have no experience with these kits, based on their reviews and what some of these kits include, they should have everything that you mainly need such as the iron, a spool of solder, and a solder sucker. Just be sure to double-check that the kit that you’re purchasing has a spool of solder. If it does not, be sure to purchase it. If you are still not sold on the idea of soldering, the 1upkeyboards 60% hotswap PCB in an ANSI layout has been restocked and is $50 (https://www.1upkeyboards.com/shop/controllers/1up-rgb-pcb-hse/). If you decide on purchasing this PCB, keep in mind that you will experience keycap interference with the switches if you go with a Cherry profile set. I ended up going with the DZ60 since it was available and it’s what I was familiar with and programming the PCB was much easier than the GK64.

Though I originally wanted to go with the aluminum Tofu case from KBDfans, the cost would have been out of budget and I could not find one for cheap enough on MechMarket. The next best option was the low-profile aluminum case, but the final fit and finish with the plate did not look aesthetically pleasing to me with the gap and the visible screw holes in the plate found underneath the left and right shift. The next next best option was going with a plastic case, as much as I didn’t want to. I could not find any other high profile-aluminum cases that were lower in cost or didn’t take months to arrive from AliExpress. I was initially afraid of any hollowness that may come out when typing, but thankfully I had some fairly dense foam lying around from my previous KBDfans purchase as well as what was included from shipping the parts I ordered for this build. After tediously shaping the foam to fit all the little compartments in the case, accounting for the Type-C port and the slope of the case, I was able to fill the case with foam to help fill up any voids in the case and dampen any hollowness you may hear while typing.

Instead of going with Durock Stabilizers, I went with GMK screw-in stabilizers which I have lubed and applied dielectric grease to the bars. I also applied stabilizer pads to the PCB, but bandaid modding will work the same.

I went with an aluminum plate instead of brass because well, it’s $20 cheaper lol. I got the plate from KBDfans with the 2U left shift, allowing for a 64 key layout since my gf is an arrow key user (even though you can program in arrow keys through QMK). Having this 64 key layout in mind, it made it important to look for a keycap set that can support this layout. This meant I had to either look for a 64 key keycap set or a keycap set that includes a 2U left shift, a 1U right shift, and the other 1U keys for the keys right of the space bar. You can save a bit more here and choose a keycap set that fits your needs whether you’re going with a 61 key layout or 64. Just be sure that the set you purchase supports your layout. To save a bit more with a 61 and 64 key layout, you can purchase a set that only comes with the required amount of keys.

Overall, I’m content with the final result and was surprised by what I was able to obtain given the budget. The video above does not really do the keyboard’s sound any justice since I couldn’t find my mic and my next best option was to use the one attached to my headset lol. It did make the keyboard sound a bit more hollow than it does in person but I can assure you that the sound is much lower and less hollow in person. I am also kind of an aggressive typer lol. If I ever find my mic and have my hands on this keyboard again I will update. As I mentioned earlier, this may not be the best option within this price range for everyone, but I was mainly hoping to post this to help give newcomers an idea of what options they have and what the final product could be like at this price point rather than just being given options on what to buy and having no idea what the final result could be like. These should all be parts that are easy to find and in stock (jk mauves are out of stock rn on cannonkeys but there are other retailers and switch options you can go with) so you do not have to sit and wait twiddling your thumbs for the NK65 Entry Edition restock that you just missed and can have the ability to brag to your neighbor’s dog that you have built you’re own keyboard. Thanks for reading ^^/

I did not take many photos during this build process, I didn’t even think I was going to make a post about this keyboard, but the 2 images that I have of this build can be found here: https://imgur.com/a/vun5T1e

1 point

·

20th Dec 2020

Anyone know of a good budget black on white keycap set in either OEM or Cherry profiles? I’ve seen ones like EPBT Charcoal and Artfact Bloom but they’re sold out at this moment, but looking around that ball park for price ($50-80)

Also anyone have experience with this keycap set? I can’t find any info on it outside of the Amazon seller page and there seems to be no reviews on this particular set, so I’m a bit wary of it.

0 points

·

3rd Jun 2021

Thank you! It’s a set I found on Amazon surprisingly, pbt dye sub, pretty decent quality! They are pretty thick and the legends are crisp, cherry profile 🙂

Here’s the link! https://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Minimalist-Suitable-Mechanical-Keyboard/dp/B08L7YXQ43/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=japanese+keycaps&qid=1622733040&sprefix=japaneae+keycap&sr=8-3

0 points

·

19th Jan 2021

The Furo shiro is available on amazon for $35.99